en / de

claudia bosse / theatercombinat


2022 ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods a performance for the woods by claudia bosse. a production by theatercombinat in coproduction with brut-wien.

projects of the series
oracle and sacrifice:
- ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1 or the evacuation of the present


ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods
von claudia bosse

ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods moves organs, bodies, guts, movements, the whole piece ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1 or the evacuation of the present into the woods of vienna and establishes theater as landscape. a space whose boundaries are the earth and the root soil, or the sky above the treetops. ... airy and at the same time impenetrable, sprawling landscapes under and above the earth. artemis, goddess of the forest, of animals, of children and women - fertility rituals were dedicated to her - meets the composting of matter/body, the metabolic processes of the forest, robotics between artificial intelligence and organic material.

ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods transports us, exposes us to the forest and provokes confrontation with the non-human in us and around us, puts us in a connectedness with all kinds of materialities. // timothy morton: there is no such "thing" as the environment, since being involved in it already, we are not separate from it. //

whether the trees will have revolted? the prophecy hangs in the air and the question to the slaughtered, sacrificed sheep is in the bones: how long can gaia carry us? one thing is certain: the organs will not have left us. or will they?

here in the forest they are now arranged in a resistant way. an exploration through undergrowth, an installation in the woods, singing and choral theater with the breathing of the forest.

in search of other ecologies and poetics, also in art....

the work is part of the series ORACLE and SACRIFICE, which deals with the meaning of sacrifices and the practice of oracle from antiquity until today: rituals, predictions as well as forms of community. oracles, the future techniques of the etruscans, indicated the coming in the course of lightning, in organs and in the flight of birds. in the liver of sacrificed animals, the wish of the gods was read and gave answers to questions of possible wars or political alliances.


 

collage: claudia bosse

concept/ objects/ artistic direction: claudia bosse. sound/ sonic realization: günther auer; choir composition: peter jakober; claudia bosse, rotraud kern, mun wai lee, pat toh, florian tröbinger; choir: laura brechmann, emma malena edwards, beate maria friedl, mahsa ghafari, daniela graf, lilian gremmer, ines kaiser, maria ketscher, bozena kunstek, maite lebacq, anne megier, hossein mohammadi, susanne muzler, hannah resatz, mariella schwarten, juri zanger, christine zuna-kratky; artistic collaboration/ costume: julia zastava; dramaturgical advice + outside eye: fanti baum, outside eye: felicitas thun-hohenstein; choir coordination/ research: gabriela urritia reyes; research: frida robles; assistence: maren streich; technical director: marco tölzer; assistence communication: oliver maus; production + research: dagmar tröstler.

a production by theatercombinat in coproduction with brut wien, supported by wien kultur, the federal ministry of arts and culture and the district council leopoldstadt, vienna. in 2021 co-laboration with brunnenpassage wien.

a thank you to: manfred pintar, romana brandstätter, martin schebeck, douglas godbold, gertrud haidvogl, mr. speckner und mr. schmied.


ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods
performance by claudia bosse in the woods of vienna

world premiere & further shows: 2022
tickets and more information: brut-wien

CIRCULAR ECOLOGIES - backgroundtalk on ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods. with douglas godbold and yohan rangan. moderation: claudia bosse.

 

previously in the artistic series ORACLE and SACRIFICE:
as a first from june 2nd to june 6th 2020, the lab oracle and sacrifice took place with artist julia zastava, the performer and dramaturge robert steijn, the indonesian architect and artist dea widya, the latinist laura gianvittorio and the visual artist and philisopher elisabeth von samsonow as well as an extended lab in berlin with the theatre scholar ulrike haß. in october 2020 claudia bosse presented ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1 or the evacuation of the present her first solo with accomplices and organs at tanzquartier wien, the german premiere was in mid october at the fft düsseldorf. in summer 2021 ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods as a work with a choir in the woods of vienna as well as a residency in the fall of 2021 at studio plesungan on java, indonesia.


www.theatercombinat.com theatrale produktion und rezeption

en / de

claudia bosse / theatercombinat


8./ 13./ 14./ 15./ 21./ 22. mai 2022 ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods eine audioperformative spurensuche von claudia bosse. eine produktion von theatercombinat in koproduktion mit brut-wien und in kooperation mit kulturhaus brotfabrik.


text der audioperformativen spurensuche
pressefotos

pressestimmen:
- der standard
- les nouveaux riches
- BÜHNE magazin
- falter
- FAQ magazin
- buzzfeed
- morgenjournal, ö1
- kultur heute, orf 3

interviews:
- expedition in die vegetative dunkelheit in skug
- wie lange kann gaia uns noch tragen? in les nouveaux riches
- radio-interview mit claudia bosse, fanti baum und günther auer, radio ORANGE 94.0
- the foam, the hair, the organs. claudia bosse interviewed by frida robles

- HEAT and ORGAN reading.
eine performance-lecture von claudia bosse

projekte der serie
oracle and sacrifice:
- ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1 oder die evakuierung der gegenwart
- circular ecologies


ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods
von claudia bosse

audiofiles zum download
karte zur begehung der waldlandschaft

ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods versetzt organe, körper, eingeweide, bewegungen, das ganze stück ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1 oder die evakuierung der gegenwart, in die wälder wiens und begründet theater als landschaft. ein raum, dessen begrenzungen die erde und der wurzelboden ist, oder der himmel über den baumwipfeln. ... luftige und zugleich undurchdringliche, wuchernde landschaften unter und über der erde. artemis, göttin des waldes, der tiere, der kinder und frauen - ihr waren fruchtbarkeitsrituale gewidmet- trifft auf die kompostierung von materie/körpern, auf stoffwechselprozesse des waldes, auf robotics zwischen artificial intelligence und organischem material.

ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods versetzt uns, setzt uns dem wald aus und provoziert die konfrontation mit dem nicht-menschlichen in uns und um uns herum, versetzt uns in eine verbundenheit mit allen möglichen materialitäten. // timothy morton: there is no such „thing" as the environment, since being involved in it already, we are not separate from it. //

ob die bäume revoltiert haben werden? die prophezeiung hängt in der luft und die frage an das geschlachtete, geopferte schaf steckt in den knochen: wie lange kann gaia uns noch tragen? eins ist gewiss: die organe werden uns nicht verlassen haben. oder doch?

hier im wald sind sie nun widerständig angeordnet. eine erkundung durch unterholz, eine installation in den wäldern, gesang und chorisches theater mit dem atmen des waldes.

auf der suche nach anderen ökologien und poetiken, auch in der kunst.... 

die arbeit ist teil der serie ORACLE and SACRIFICE in der die bedeutung von opferungen und die praxis des orakels von der antike bis heute bearbeitet wird: rituale, voraussagungen sowie formen von gemeinschaft/en. orakel, die zukunftstechniken, der etrusker, ließen im verlauf von blitzen, in organen und im flug der vögel auf kommendes schließen. in der leber geopferter tiere wurde der wunsch der götter gelesen und gab antwort bei fragen möglicher kriege oder politischer allianzen.

INFO: aufgrund behördlicher auflagen muss das geplante format ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods verändert werden. die adaptierte version als audioperformative spurensuche findet ohne eintritt zu den gleichen terminen statt.


 

foto: eva würdinger, für fotostrecke bitte klicken

choreografie/ raum/ text: claudia bosse. sound/ klangrealisation: günther auer; komposition chor: peter jakober; performer*innen: ulduz ahmadzadeh, verena herterich, rotraud kern, mun wai lee, claudia bosse; chor der baumleser*innen: elisabeth austaller, bea maria friedl, daniela graf, sarah hollweger, ines kaiser, therese leick, anne megier, larry mey, susa muzler, hannah resatz, gerlinde riegler, carla rihl, mariella schwarten, karine blanche seror, constance steininger, grace talbot, defne uluer, joanna zabielska, christa zuna-kratky; kostüme: julia zastava; dramaturgie: fanti baum; assistenz: maren streich; hospitanz: ines kaiser, hannah resatz; mitarbeit kommunikation: oliver maus; produktion/ recherche: dagmar tröstler.

eine produktion von theatercombinat in koproduktion mit brut wien, in kooperation mit kulturhaus brotfabrik, gefördert von wien kultur, vom bundesministerium für kunst und kultur und der bezirksvorstehung in leopoldstadt. 2021 in ko-laboration mit brunnenpassage wien.

dank an: manfred pintar, romana brandstätter, martin schebeck, douglas godbold, gertrud haidvogl, herrn speckner und herrn schmied.


ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods
audioperformative spurensuche von claudia bosse in den wäldern wiens

premiere: 8. mai 2022
shows: 13./ 14./ 15./ 21./ 22. mai 2022
beginn jeweils 18 uhr

dauer 170 minuten
audiofiles zum download
karte zur begehung der waldlandschaft
treffpunkt lukschgasse 5
begrenzte teilnehmer*innenzahl

der audio geleitete teil von ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods kann jederzeit selbstständig durchgeführt werden. dauer ca. 70 min.

trailer: julia zastava

CIRCULAR ECOLOGIES - backgroundtalk on ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods. mit douglas godbold und yohan rangan. moderation: claudia bosse.

 

bisher in der künstlerischen serie ORACLE and SACRIFICE:
als erste annäherung fand vom 2. bis 6. juni 2020 ein labor oracle and sacrifice statt, mit der künstlerin julia zastava, dem performer und dramaturgen robert steijn, der indonesischen architektin und künstlerin dea widya, der latinistin laura gianvittorio und der bildenden künstlerin und philisophin elisabeth von samsonow sowie beim extented lab in berlin mit der theaterwissenschaftlerin ulrike haß. im oktober 2020 präsentierte claudia bosse mit ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1 oder die evakuierung der gegenwart ihr erstes solo mit kompliz*innen und organen im tanzquartier wien, deutschlandpremiere der performance war mitte oktober im fft düsseldorf. im sommer 2022 wird die serie mit ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods als arbeit mit chor in den wäldern von wien weitergeführt.


www.theatercombinat.com theatrale produktion und rezeption