en / de

claudia bosse / theatercombinat


about

 

 

- theatercombinat
- claudia bosse
- documentation and photobooks


the site-specific works by claudia bosse create transgressive spaces and transitions between installation, choreography, theater, individual and collective speech acts, social rituals as well as different forms of assembly.

the elaboration in transdisciplinary teams and multilingual ensembles of artists, dancers, actors, performers and amateurs with bodies of different generations characterize the works and penetrate in a special way the performative space in which the audience is involved in the shared space. they can move freely through it and become part of the various situations, which are concentrated centrally in the space or also occur synchronously and decentrally. at the same time, the works create social sculptures as temporary communities of a physical confrontation with questions of our present.


die perser, claudia bosse / theatercombinat, theaterformen braunschweig,
june 2008, photo: christian bort

the (urban) spaces and architectures are chosen specifically for the project. these spaces become co-authors with their respective dimension, structure, texture and history. the found spaces are worked on as theatrical spaces for the performances with actors, choirs, objects, material and sound.

research trips and international projects create new collaborations and knowledge about other aesthetics, cultural techniques and self-understandings, as well as about concrete political conflict situations and their forms of performance. these insights flow into the artistic works and change them. transnational partnerships open up experiences about other performative techniques, ways of playing, aesthetics and modes of and collaboration with artists and experts.


anatomie sade/wittgenstein – eine choreographische theaterarbeit in 3 architekturen,
claudia bosse / theatercombinat, vienna 2002

theatercombinat regards itself as an autonomous production organism that can dock onto different structures and institutions, but is capable of independently carrying out and publishing self-determined projects. the aim is to create one's own publics, to use, question and change knowledge and structure, spaces and institutions for project work.

theater as thinking with bodies in spaces.

the performative manifestations are preceded by condensed research that tests the relationships between bodies and spaces in ever-changing constellations and over a period of several years. in all investigations, theater is understood as the opening of spaces of thought and possibility, whose emergence is driven by a search for performative sculptures of sound and choreography and manifests itself in expansive installations with sensitive conditions of perception (anatomie sade wittgenstein, 2001/03; firma raumforschung, 2004/05, tragödienproduzenten, 2006/09). the always applicable working approach of the performative research is a theater of choreographic constellations in dealing with language and ideologies from 2500 years of political-aesthetic history, which, via theater historiography, architecture, bodies and ancient as well as contemporary texts, always also questions the political in contemporary theater and its social function(s).


the last IDEAL PARADISE, claudia bosse / theatercombinat,
jakarta, indonesia 2020, photo: sancoyo purnomo

acoustic architectures and sound compositions weave themselves into the respective choreography and text and material basis. concrete traces and functions of the spaces are understood as readymades, installatively occupied or expanded and redefined. existing realities overlap through large-scale installative and performative means.

recurring is the use of choir and the choral elaboration of movements, theater texts, scores and actions. choir as negotiation of a hybrid whole body, as collective action, as organization of many, as social body, across generations and in different forms: as speaking chorus or singing chorus, as movement chorus that collectively creates and changes constellations in space with the audience or in situ chorus that meets by simple agreement, performs an action together, speaks, reads or moves.


a first step to IDEAL PARADISE, claudia bosse / theatercombinat, donaufestival krems,
june 2015, photo: claudia bosse

the work with the own audio/media archive of working materials, interview collections, autofictions of the performers and sound documents on political thoughts and questions from different geo-political contexts, develops organically with the projects (some democratic fictions, 2011/15) and lets political hybrids emerge, which are composed of different kinds of texts - compiled, extended, interwoven, disassembled. text types that clash, overlap and mutually inform each other appeal to the attitude of the viewer and elude the contextualized labeling of authorial authorship (vampires of the 21st century or what is to be done?, 2011).

energies and languages collide and open up fissures for fictional spaces of possibility in the real urban space. here, the levels overlap and intertwine the spectators in liminal situations , making them witnesses and co-performers of ritual actions ((katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise, 2011/15; the last IDEAL PARADISE, 2016/18/20; 168 stunden (a tribute to everyday life and franz erhard walther), 2018).


168 stunden (a tribute to everyday life and franz erhard walther), claudia bosse /
theatercombinat, tanzquartier vienna 2018, photo: eva würdinger

theater as a forward thinking with bodies in spaces.

claudia bosse's theaters are theatrical work cyclesthat overlap, cross over, condition, and continue each other like palimpsets. they are always about finding cultural organizations as artistic, resistant, and interrelated structures - about new artistic ecologies, as life cells of our society (ORGAN/ISMUS – poetics of relations, 2022/25)./span>

 

 

- theatercombinat
- claudia bosse
- documentation and photobooks


claudia bosse

studied acting at the hochschule für schauspielkunst ernst busch berlin. she is a director, choreographer, artist and directs theatercombinat, a transdisciplinary company she co-founded in berlin in 1997 and is based in vienna. her works negotiate forms of violence, history and concrete utopias. she understands her space-filling choreographies as the art of a temporary community, in which she interweaves myths, rituals, texts and documents with bodies, language, objects and choirs to create space-specific pieces. inside and outside europe, in museums, architectures and urban spaces, she practices this (often choral) thinking with bodies in spaces shared with the audience. her practice includes installations, performances and interventions in public spaces, as well as lectures, workshops, and guest professorships and lectureships at various academies and universities.

in 2009 she received the nestroypreis for bambiland08 and was invited to the austrian dance platform in 2014 with designed desires and to the german dance platform in 2018 with the last IDEAL PARADISE. since 2011 she has also been creating objects and installation works in engagement with archives and museum collections, such as leopold museum vienna, museum of contemporary art zagreb, weltmuseum vienna, stadtarchiv düsseldorf or museu da imigracao in são paulo among others.

 

 

 


 

 

 

 


documentationen and photobooks

EXPLOSION DER STILLE – a silent chorus, hg. claudia bosse, vicky klug. wien 2017.

applied poetics in urban space, hg. claudia bosse, vicky klug. wien 2017.

struggling bodies in capitalist societies (democracies), die erste ausgabe der CHEAP METHOD EDITION. hg. theatercombinat & motto books. wien/ berlin 2014.

biographical landscapes of new zagreb, die zweite ausgabe der CHEAP METHOD EDITION. hg. theatercombinat & motto books. wien/ berlin 2014.

bambiland08 – hg. claudia bosse, astrid mayer und christine standfest, wien 2008.

coriolan – hg. claudia bosse, anke dyes und lena wicke, wien 2008.

skizzen des verschwindens. theatrale raumproduktionen, hg. claudia bosse und christina nägele. revolver verlag, frankfurt/main 2007.

turn terror into sport – hg. claudia bosse, anke dyes und lena wicke, wien 2007.

grü500 - les perses – théâtre du grütli, hg. imanol atorragasti, claudia bosse, sophie klimis und michèle pralong, genf 2006.

anatomie sade/wittgenstein – eine choreographische theaterarbeit in 3 architekturen; triton verlag, hg. claudia bosse, markus keim, andreas pronegg, christine standfest und doris uhlich, wien 2002.


all publications can be ordered at: buero@theatercombinat.com

 



about theatercombinat's spatial practice and its temporary use of spaces:
raummappe zur temporären nutzung von räumen


www.theatercombinat.com theatrale produktion und rezeption

en / de

claudia bosse / theatercombinat


about

 

 

- theatercombinat
- claudia bosse
- dokumentation und fotobücher


in landschaften, architekturen oder urbanen räumen schaffen die ortsspezifischen arbeiten von claudia bosse poetische subversionen zwischen installation, choreografie, theater, gesellschaftlichen ritualen sowie formen der versammlung. in ihren künstlerischen verdichtungen beschäftigt sie sich mit mythen, formen der gewalt und konkreten utopien.

theatercombinat ist ein nomadischer produktionsorganismus für international produzierte freie kunst und theaterarbeiten unter der leitung von der künstlerin und choreografin claudia bosse. theatercombinat arbeitet inner- und außereuropäisch an ortsspezifischen kollaborationen mit verschiedenen institutionen, initiativen und künstler*innen.


die perser, claudia bosse / theatercombinat, theaterformen braunschweig,
juni 2008, foto: christian bort

die ortsspezifischen arbeiten von claudia bosse schaffen grenzräume und übergänge zwischen installation, choreografie, theater, individuellen und kollektiven sprechakten, gesellschaftlichen ritualen sowie verschiedene formen der versammlung.

die erarbeitung in transdisziplinären teams und mehrsprachigen ensembles von künstler*innen, tänzer*innen, schauspieler*innen, performer*innen und laien mit körpern unterschiedlicher generationen prägen die arbeiten und durchdringen auf besondere weise den performativen raum, in den die zuschauer*innen im geteilten raum involviert werden. sie können sich frei durch ihn hindurch bewegen und werden teil der verschiedenen situationen, die sich zentral im raum bündeln oder auch synchron und dezentral ereignen. dabei schaffen die arbeiten zugleich soziale skulpturen als temporäre gemeinschaften einer körperlichen auseinandersetzung zu fragen unserer gegenwart.

die (urbanen) räume und architekturen werden projektspezifisch gewählt. diese räume werden mit ihrer jeweiligen dimension, struktur, textur und geschichte zu ko-autoren. die vorgefundenen räume werden als theatrale räume für die performances mit akteur*innen, chören, objekten, material und sound bearbeitet.

recherchereisen und internationale projekte schaffen neue kollaboration und wissen über andere ästhetiken, kulturelle techniken und selbstverständnisse, wie auch über konkrete politische konfliktlagen und deren auftrittsformen. diese erkenntnisse, fliessen in die künstlerischen arbeiten ein und verändern diese. transnationale kooperationen eröffnen erfahrungen über andere performative techniken, spielweisen, ästhetiken und modi der sowie zusammenarbeit mit künstler*innen und expert*innen.


anatomie sade/wittgenstein – eine choreographische theaterarbeit in 3 architekturen,
claudia bosse / theatercombinat, wien 2002

theatercombinat versteht sich als ein autonomer produktionsorganismus, der an unterschiedliche strukturen und institutionen andocken kann, jedoch in der lage ist, unabhängig selbstbestimmte projekte durchzuführen und zu veröffentlichen. es geht darum, eigene öffentlichkeiten zu schaffen, wissen und struktur, räume und institutionen für projektarbeiten zu verwenden, zu befragen und zu verändern.

theater als denken mit körpern in räumen.

den performativen manifestationen gehen verdichtete recherchen voraus, die in immer wechselnden konstellationen und über mehrere jahre gestreckt verhältnisse von körpern und räumen erproben. in allen untersuchungen wird theater verstanden als öffnung von denk- und möglichkeitsräumen, deren entstehung von einer suche nach performativen skulpturen aus klang und choreografie getrieben ist und sich in raumgreifende installationen mit sensiblen wahrnehmungsbedingungen manifestieren (anatomie sade wittgenstein, 2001/03; firma raumforschung, 2004/05, tragödienproduzenten, 2006/09). stets gültiger arbeitsansatz der performativen forschungen ist ein theater der choreografischen konstellationen im umgang mit sprache und ideologien aus 2500 jahren politisch-ästhetischer geschichte, das über theaterhistoriografie, architekturen, körpern und antiken wie zeitgenössischen texten immer auch das politische im gegenwärtigen theater und dessen gesellschaftliche funktion(en) befragt.


the last IDEAL PARADISE, claudia bosse / theatercombinat,
jakarta, indonesien 2020, foto: sancoyo purnomo

akustische architekturen und sound kompositionen weben sich in die jeweilige choreographie und text- und materialbasis ein. konkrete spuren und funktionen der räume werden als readymades verstanden, installativ besetzt oder erweitert und umdefiniert. bestehende wirklichkeiten überlagern sich durch großräumige installative und performative mittel.

wiederkehrend ist der einsatz von chor und die chorische erarbeitung von bewegungen, theatertexten, partituren und aktionen. chor als aushandlung eines hybriden gesamtkörpers, als kollektive aktion, als organisation von vielen, als gesellschaftlicher körper, generationenübergreifend und in unterschiedlichen formen: als sprechchor oder gesangschor, als bewegungschor der kollektiv konstellationen im raum mit den zuschauer*innen schafft und verändert oder in situ chor, der sich über eine einfache vereinbarung trifft, eine handlung gemeinsam ausführt, spricht, liest oder bewegt.


a first step to IDEAL PARADISE, claudia bosse / theatercombinat, donaufestival krems,
juni 2015, foto: claudia bosse

die arbeit mit dem eigenen audio-/medienarchiv aus arbeitsmaterialien, interviewsammlungen, autofiktionen der darsteller*innen und o-ton-dokumenten zu politische gedanken und fragestellungen aus verschiedenen geo- politischen kontexten, entwickelt sich mit den projekten organisch weiter (some democratic fictions, 2011/15) und lässt politische hybride entstehen, die sich aus verschiedenen textsorten - zusammengetragen, erweitert, verwebt, zerlegt - zusammensetzen. textsorten, die sich aufeinander schlagen, überlagern und gegenseitig informieren, appellieren an die haltung des*r zuschauer*in und entziehen sich dem kontextualisierten labeling autorisierter autor*innenschaft (vampires of the 21st century oder was also tun?, 2011).

energien und sprachen kollidieren und öffnen spalten für fiktive möglichkeitsräume im realen stadtraum. hier überlagern sich die ebenen und verflechten die zuschauenden in liminale situationen und lassen sie so zu zeug*innenen und mit-vollziehenden ritueller handlungen werden ((katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise, 2011/15; the last IDEAL PARADISE, 2016/18/20; 168 stunden (a tribute to everyday life and franz erhard walther), 2018).


168 stunden (a tribute to everyday life and franz erhard walther), claudia bosse /
theatercombinat, tanzquartier wien 2018, foto: eva würdinger

theater als ein weiterdenken mit körpern in räumen.

theater von claudia bosse sind theatrale arbeitszyklen, die sich palimpsets-artig überlagen, überschneiden, bedingen, sich fortführen. immer geht es auch um das (er)finden kultureller organismen als künstlerische, widerständige und sich aufeinander beziehende gefüge - um neue künstlerische ökologien, als (über)lebenszellen unserer gesellschaft (ORGAN/ISMUS – poetik der relationen, 2022/25).

 

 

- theatercombinat
- claudia bosse
- dokumentation und fotobücher


claudia bosse

studierte schauspielregie an der hochschule für schauspielkunst ernst busch berlin. sie ist regisseurin, choreografin, künstlerin und leitet theatercombinat, eine transdisziplinäre kompanie, die sie 1997 in berlin mitbegründete und ihren sitz in wien hat. ihre arbeiten verhandeln formen von gewalt, geschichte und konkrete utopien. als kunst einer temporären gemeinschaft versteht sie ihre raumgreifenden choreographien, bei denen sie mythen, rituale, texte und dokumente mit körpern, sprache, objekten und chören zu raumspezifischen stücken verschränkt. innerhalb und außerhalb europas, in museen, architekturen und stadträumen praktiziert sie dieses (oft chorische) denken mit körpern in mit den zuschauer*innen geteilten räumen. zu ihrer praxis zählen installationen, performances und interventionen im öffentlichen raum, wie auch lectures, workshops, sowie gastprofessuren und dozenturen an verschiedenen akademien und universitäten.

sie erhielt 2009 den nestroypreis für bambiland08 und wurde 2014 mit designed desires zur österreichischen und 2018 mit the last IDEAL PARADISE zur deutschen tanzplattform eingeladen. seit 2011 entstehen zudem objekte und installative arbeiten in der auseinandersetzung mit archiven und museumssammlungen, wie leopold museum wien, museum of contemporary art zagreb, weltmuseum wien, stadtarchiv düsseldorf oder museu da imigracao in são paulo ua.

 

 

 


 

 

 

- theatercombinat
- claudia bosse
- dokumentation und fotobücher


dokumentationen und fotobücher

EXPLOSION DER STILLE – a silent chorus, hg. claudia bosse, vicky klug. wien 2017.

applied poetics in urban space, hg. claudia bosse, vicky klug. wien 2017.

struggling bodies in capitalist societies (democracies), die erste ausgabe der CHEAP METHOD EDITION. hg. theatercombinat & motto books. wien/ berlin 2014.

biographical landscapes of new zagreb, die zweite ausgabe der CHEAP METHOD EDITION. hg. theatercombinat & motto books. wien/ berlin 2014.

bambiland08 – hg. claudia bosse, astrid mayer und christine standfest, wien 2008.

coriolan – hg. claudia bosse, anke dyes und lena wicke, wien 2008.

skizzen des verschwindens. theatrale raumproduktionen, hg. claudia bosse und christina nägele. revolver verlag, frankfurt/main 2007.

turn terror into sport – hg. claudia bosse, anke dyes und lena wicke, wien 2007.

grü500 - les perses – théâtre du grütli, hg. imanol atorragasti, claudia bosse, sophie klimis und michèle pralong, genf 2006.

anatomie sade/wittgenstein – eine choreographische theaterarbeit in 3 architekturen; triton verlag, hg. claudia bosse, markus keim, andreas pronegg, christine standfest und doris uhlich, wien 2002.


alle publikationen können bestellt werden unter: buero@theatercombinat.com

 



über die räumliche praxis von theatercombinat und die temporäre nutzung von räumen:
raummappe zur temporären nutzung von räumen

 


www.theatercombinat.com theatrale produktion und rezeption