theatercombinat |20. - 25. oktober 2014 thoughts meet space athens installation & open archive von claudia bosse im
B
hive
, mithimnis 18, obere etage und dach, athen (gr).

language: deutsch, english, greek


- presseaussendung
- besucherinformation
- dossier some democratic fictions

teil des zyklus: (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise

verwendetes material aus der sammlung: some democratic fictions

verbundene projekte:
- thoughts meet space vienna
- thoughts meet space beirut
- thoughts meet space
cairo

- thoughts meet space cairo in wien

 

thoughts meet space athens ist eine installation und ein wucherndes raumlabor von claudia bosse in zusammenarbeit mit soundkünstler günther auer und experimentiert mit medien und sozialen relationen durch bilder, sounds, objekte und gedanken; eine raumkomposition aus objets trouvés, performativer assemblage, verräumlichten assoziationen. unterschiedliche zugriffe auf die gegenwart ausgebreitet im raum. nach wien und beirut findet thoughts meet space nun in athen statt. eine weiterentwicklung der recherche und der installation folgt im januar 2015 in kairo.

OPENING 20. oktober um 21.00h
täglich geöffnet bis 25. oktober von 18.00-21.00h

CLOSING ACT / DEMOCRATIC VOODOO BANKRUPTCY
am 25. oktober um 21.00h mit claudia bosse, marco tölzer, ariadni yfanti
und dem partizipierendem publikum

thoughts meet space athens ist eine reise durch verschiedene räume und gedanken... die stimmen in den verschiedenen räumen des hauses laden den besucher ein, unseren reisen zu den unterschiedlichen destinationen zu folgen. das haus wird selbst teil der installation, entfaltet seine eigene stimme, erzählt seine eigene geschichte. sich überlagernde raumnarrative und materialien aus verschiedenen ländern erzeugen ein zusammenspiel mit den konkreten bespielten räumen der villa, der strasse davor, sowie dem dach des gebäudes.

ein sprechendes haus, das mit den stimmen der transnationalen sammlung von gedanken some democratic fictions spricht. die neoklassizistische villa wurde 1936 von dem bekannten architekt anastasios metaxas errichtet und war einst das haus bedeutender griechischer politiker, war später ort einer hinduistischen sekte, dann kindergarten für die kinder philippinischer immigranten in athen. nun ein haus mit verschiedenen situationen für den besucher, verschiedenen atmosphäre in den einzelnen räumen, die jeweils zugang zu stimmen aus einer stadt bieten und vor ort erstellter raumobjekte, ein multimediale begehbares ensemble das unterschiedliche narrationen im raum freilegt. jeder raum steht für ein anderes land. athen befindet sich am dach und auf der strasse. 66 menschen aus 8 nationen teilen gedanken und beantworten fragen zu demokratie, freiheit und leben in gesellschaften im umbruch.

some democratic fictions ist eine im januar 2011 begonnene interviewreihe und untersucht demokratiebegriffe, gesetzesformen, lebensweisen, freiheitsbegriffe als lautes denken über politische alternativen. diese materialien werden als transnationales archiv in eine räumlich-installative form übersetzt. narrationen und portraits aus new york, kairo, alexandria, tunis, frankfurt, zagreb, tel aviv, jerusalem, brüssel, beirut und nun athen, stellen die frage, wie geschichte - beeinflusst durch unterschiedliche verständnisse von gesellschaft und geopolitscher kontexte - konstruiert wird.

die offene, sich stets fortschreibende sammlung produziert ideen, ausdrücke, gestiken, sprache und raum für zeitgenössische (jüngere) geschichte. gedanken von menschen aus verschiedenen ländern mit unterschiedlichen hintergründen und politischen überzeugungen. diese "sicht auf unsere zeit" öffnet sich durch die zwischenräume der unterschieldichen position der einzelnen gesprächspartner.


fotos: claudia bosse / günther auer
für fotostrecke bitte klicken

installation / objekte: claudia bosse, kollaboration / musik / media support: günther auer, technik: marco tölzer, recherche / assistenz: ariadni yfanti, produktion wien: stella reinhold, eine produktion von theatercombinat, unterstützt von wien kultur, BKA, der österreichischen botschaft in athen und AthenSYN katja ehrhardt

herzlichen dank an unsere interviewten und ihre gedanken: katja ehrhardt, vassilis matzoukis, platon mavromoustakos, nikitas karagiannis, irini chovas, dimitris galanis, nikos soulis, nikos giavropoulos, marianna asimakopoulou, petros linardos rylmon, sotiris bachtetzis, anna sarilaki, evripidis laskaridis, nikos odubitan, viktoria maniatakou, maria komninou, andreas kourkoulas, michael kliën, vassilis noulas

und wir danken unserem wundervollen host Bhive


foto: claudia bosse

foto: claudia bosse


some democratic fictions ATHENS

29. september - 25. oktober 2014
research residency mit präsentation von teilen des archivs von some democratic fictions und einer vor ort entwickelten mehrmedialen installation von 20. - 25. oktober 2014.

 

location

Bhive ist ein neuer experimenteller kunstraum
mithimnis 18
in kypseli, athen
griechenland


ein archiv
ist eine situation.
ein archiv ist eine sammlung von dingen, gedanken und konzepten.
ein archiv ist eine konstellation von material, von dokumenten;
es ist in bewegung-

jede konstellation des materials erschafft neue kriterien seiner lesbarkeit, seiner narrative und möglichen kombinationen-
jede konstellation der dokumente und materialien re-informiert die dokumente selbst.

die anwesenheit eines dokuments mit anderen dokumenten
erzeugt die gegenwart ihrer speziellen konstellation,
und zugleich die
gegenwart der interpretation, in diesem speziellen raum und zu diesem bestimmten augenblick.

ein archiv ist immer die gegewart seiner aneignung.
(notizen claudia bosse)


NEXT STEP:

INSTALLATION im jänner/februar 2015 in kairo thoughts meet space cairo im rahmen der RESEARCH some democratic fictions im hotel viennoise in kairo, ein kooperationsprojekt mit CLUSTER - cairo laborartory for urban studies, unterstützt von szenenwechsel (robert bosch stiftung). die räumlichkeit wird von al ismaelia for real estate investement zur verfügung gestellt.


BISHERIGE VERÖFFENTLICHUNGEN DES SOME DEMOCRATIC FICTIONS MATERIALS ALS TEMPORÄRES ARCHIV:
nach der verwendung von amerikanischen interviews in der installation dominant powers – landsschaften des unbehagens (mai 2011 im und außerhalb des kartografischen institut, wien), einige ägyptische interviews wurden teil der performance dominant powers. was also tun? in wien and tunis, sowie in zagreb museum of contemporary art, in begleitung und verschmelzung mit der installation biographical landscapes of new zagreb. diese installation untersuchte das konkrete städtische umfeld von new zagreb mit hilfe von bewohnern, ihrer erinnerungen und lebenszustände. diese interviews mit lokalen teilnehmern trafen im museum auf früher produzierte ägyptische interviews. im februar 2012 wurde das archiv teilweise in der öffentlichen installation und performance burning beasts präsentiert. für dieses projekt mit deplatzierten autokörpern im stadtzentrum wurde archiviertes interviewmaterial in verbindung mit sound und beschreibender rekonstruktion von medialen bildern repräsentativ für das versagen von politischen befehlen verwendet. im april 2013 wurde das archivmaterial durch in brüssel geführte interviews erweitertert, die auch teil der performativen installation galerie royale centrale - rewriting history. die installation entstand im dialog mit shopbetreibern, die in ihren geschäften in der galerie d'ixelles, und konfrontierte spezifische dokumente der kolonialgeschichte aus dem afrika museum tervuren mit material der eigenen geschichte der dort arbeitenden. die installation thoughts meet space im mai/juni 2013 fand in 18 verschiedenen räumen der ehemaligen zollamtskantine in wien statt. die dafür verwendeten interviews stehen in konfrontation mit medialen szenarien von realität. erstmals wurde hier die mehrheit des archivierten materials für die künstlerische operation "thoughts meet space" verwendet, als ein virtueller raum von dreidimensionalen gedanken, begleitet von 2 performances bezugnehmend auf die installation als koproduktion mit tanzquartier wien. die installation thoughts meet space beirut im oktober 2013 war eine fortstetzung dieses künstlerischen verfahrens und präsentierte teile des archivmaterials sowie in beirut entstandene bilder und objekte sowie interviews. das ganze material der sammlung ist teil des gesamtprojekts (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise und der in diesem kontext entwickelten performance what about catastrophes?, die im april 2014 in koproduktion mit tanzquartier wien ihre premiere feierte. im september 2014 folgte die uraufführung von catastrophic paradise in kooperation mit dem FFT düsseldorf im rahmen der reihe "DECOLONIZE! performative strategien für ein (post)koloniales zeitalter" in düsseldorf sowie im märz 2015 die österreichische erstaufführung beim tanzquartier wien. im rahmen der produktion in düsseldorf fand auch das symposium politics of paradise and catastrophes statt. thoughts meet space athens wurde im letzten oktober als ortsspezifische multimedia installation bei Bhive in athen gezeigt. die arbeit verwandelte das neoklassizistische haus von Bhive in ein sprechendes haus, sprechend mit den stimmen der transnationalen sammlung von gedanken.die installation thoughts meet space cairo präsentierte im hotel viennoise das nomadische archiv. zum zweiten mal wurden in kairo nach 2011 interviews geführt. begleitet wurde die installation von einem 5-tägigen event - reflection zone - als ein allabendlicher diskursiver und performativer salon mit beiträgen von in kairo arbeitenden künstlerInnen und theoretikerInnen. im april / mai 2015 kreierte die performance und installation a first step to IDEAL PARADISE beim donaufestival in krems einen werkraum zu ritualen und politischem denken. diese arbeit war die erste skizze zur neuen produktion IDEAL PARADISE, die im herbst uraufgeführt wird und den abschluss des gesamtprojekts (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise bildet.


chronologie der recherchereisen und interviews new york – januar/februar 2011 / kairo - oktober 2011 / alexandria - oktober 2011 / tunis - januar 2012 / frankfurt - februar 2012 / tel aviv - mai 2012 / jerusalem - mai 2012 / brüssel (matonge) april 2013 / beirut oktober 2013 / athen oktober 2014 / kairo – januar/februar 2015

(katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise ist der 4. teil der serie der "politischen hybride" (seit 2010 mit performances in wien, düsseldorf, new york, tunis, und zagreb), die bis zum jahr 2015 verschiedene künstlerische formate – sowohl performances, choreografien, theaterarbeiten, als auch installationen, interventionen, lectures, workshops und eine akademie / konferenz generiert.


www.theatercombinat.com theatrale produktion und rezeption

theatercombinat |20. - 25. october 2014 thoughts meet space athens installation & open archive by claudia bosse at Bhive, mithimnis 18, 1st floor and the rooftop, athens (gr).

language: deutsch, english, greek


press release
visitor information
dossier some democratic fictions

part of the cycle: (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise

used material from the collection: some democratic fictions

connected projects:
- thoughts meet space vienna
- thoughts meet space beirut
- thoughts meet space
cairo

- thoughts meet space cairo in vienna

 

thoughts meet space athens is an installation and a proliferate space laboratory of claudia bosse in collaboration with soundartist günther auer and experimenting with different media and social relations through images, sounds, objects, thoughts; a combination of alienated objets trouvés, performative assemblage, spatialized associations. different approaches of the present enfolded within space. in different site-specific versions and constantly growing on the way, thoughts meet space was presented in vienna and beirut, and will be presented in january 2015 in cairo.

OPENING 20th october at 9pm
open daily 6-9pm 21 till 25th october

CLOSING ACT / DEMOCRATIC VOODOO BANKRUPTCY
25th october at 9pm with claudia bosse, marco toelzer, ariadni yfanti
and the participating public

thoughts meet space athens is a travel through different spaces and thoughts... the voices in the different rooms of the house are inviting the visitor to follow our travels through different destinations. the house itself becomes part of the installation, obtains its own voice and narrates/reconstructs its own history. overlapping space-narratives and materials from abroad create a fusion with the different enacted spaces of this villa.

a talking house, speaking with voices of the transnational archive of thoughts stationed in athens. this neoclassical villa, built in 1936 by the prominent architect anastasios metaxas, once home of distinguished greek politicians, later a place of hindu worship and a nursery school for children of filipino immigrants in athens, is now being transformed into a house full of voices and found objects that unravel different narrations into space. each room of the apartment represents a different country. athens is placed on the rooftop. 66 people from 8 nations are sharing thoughts and answering questions about democracy, freedom and living in a state of transition.

some democratic fictions is a series of interviews starting in january 2011 that investigates concepts of democracy, legal forms, ways of life, ideas of freedom as thinking aloud about political alternatives. this material is translated into an installation as transnational archive. narrations and portraits from new york, cairo, alexandria, tunis, frankfurt, zagreb, tel aviv, jerusalem, brussels, beirut and now athens posing the question how history is constructed, influenced by different understandings of society and geopolitical contexts.

the open collection, that is continuously in progress, forms a frame for the production of ideas, sentences, expressions, gestures, language and space for contemporary (recent) history. thoughts of people of different backgrounds, countries and political convictions. the „view on our time“ is understood as the space in-between the position of each individual.


photos: claudia bosse / guenther auer
click to view photo series

installation / objects: claudia bosse, collaboration / music+ media support: gŁnther auer, technique: marco
tölzer, assistence / research: ariadni yfanti, production vienna: stella reinhold, production theatercombinat, supported by wien kultur, BKA, the austrian embassy in athens and AthenSYN katja ehrhardt

many thanks to our interview partners and their thoughts: katja ehrhardt, vassilis matzoukis, platon mavromoustakos, nikitas karagiannis, irini chovas, dimitris galanis, nikos soulis, nikos giavropoulos, marianna asimakopoulou, petros linardos rylmon, sotiris bachtetzis, anna sarilaki, evripidis laskaridis, nikos odubitan, viktoria maniatakou, maria komninou, andreas kourkoulas, michael kliën, vassilis noulas

and we want to thank our wonderful host Bhive


photo: claudia bosse

photo: claudia bosse


some democratic fictions ATHENS

29th september - 25th october 2014
research residency with the presentation of parts of the archive of some democratic fictions and a site-specific multimedia installation between 20th - 25th october 2014.

 

location

Bhive is a new experimental space for the arts
in kypseli, athens
mithimnis 18
greece


an archive 
is a situation.
an archive is constituted from a collection of things, thoughts and concepts.
an archive is a constellation of material, of documents;
it is fluid-

each constellation of its material recreates the criteria of its readability, its narratives and combinations-
each constellation of the documents and materials re-informs the documents themselves.

the presence of the document with other documents
is the present of its constellation, and the present of its interpretation in this space
at this precise moment.

an archive is always the present of its perception.
(working notes claudia bosse)


NEXT STEP:

INSTALLATION in jan/feb 2015 in cairo thoughts meet space cairo in context of the RESEARCH some democratic fictions in hotel viennoise in cairo, a cooperation project with CLUSTER - cairo laborartory for urban studies, supported by szenenwechsel (robert bosch foundation). the space is provided by al ismaelia for real estate investment.


VERSIONS OF PUBLISHING THE SOME DEMOCRATIC FICTIONS MATERIAL AS TEMPORARY ARCHIVE UNTIL NOW:
after the use of the american interviews in the installation dominant powers – landscapes of unease (may 2011 in and outside the cartographic institute, vienna), some egyptian interviews became a part of the performance dominant powers. what is to be done then? in vienna and tunis, as well as in zagreb museum of contemporary art accompanied and intermingled with the installation biographical landscapes of new zagreb. this installation explored the concrete urban environment of new zagreb with the help of some residents, their memories and the conditions of their lives. the interviews of the local participants where encountered in the space of the museum with some other produced earlier in egypt. in february 2012 the archive was partially used in the public space installation and performance burning beasts in frankfurt. for this project in the displaced car bodies inside the city centre audio interview material of the archive was implemented together with sounds of music and descriptive reconstruction of media pictures representing failure of political orders. thoughts meet space in may/june 2013 was an installation in 18 different spaces where the interviews were confronted with media scenarios of spelling reality. here, for the first time, the majority of the archive material became part of this artistic operation called “thoughts meet space”, as a virtual space of three-dimensional thought presented in the old customs canteen in vienna accompanied by 2 performances in relation to the installation as a coproduction with tanzquartier vienna. all this material, including the interviews produced in athens is part of the overall project (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise. in april 2014 what about catastrophes? premiered in tanzquartier vienna. in september 2014 in dusseldorf was the world premiere of catastrophic paradise in coproduction with FFT dusseldorf in the framework of the series "DECOLONIZE! performative strategies for a (post)colonial age". in this context took place the symposium politics of paradise and catastrophes. thoughts meet space athens in october was a site-specific multimedia installation at Bhive in athens, turning the neoclassical villa into a talking house, speaking with voices of the transnational archive of thoughts. the installation thoughts meet space cairo presented at hotel viennoise the nomadic archive. for the second time interviews had been conducted in cairo after 2011. the installation was accompanied by a 5 day event called reflection zone that functions as a discoursive and performative salon with contributions of artists and theoreticians based in cairo. in april / may 2015, at the donaufestival in krems the performance and installation a first step to IDEAL PARADISE created a workroom about rituals and political thought. this work was the first sketch for the series IDEAL PARADISE that is the final of the overall projectf (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise
. in the last production of this series, the last IDEAL PARADISE, parts of the interview collection were confronted as video projections and audio stations with the material of the series IDEAL PARADISE.


chronology of research travels and interviews new york – january/february 2011 / cairo - october 2011 / alexandria - october 2011 / tunis - january 2012 / frankfurt - february 2012 / tel aviv - may 2012 / jerusalem - may 2012 / brussels (matonge) april 2013 / beirut october 2013 / athens october 2014 / cairo january/february 2015

(katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise is the fourth part of the series of "political hybrids" (performances developed since 2010 in vienna, dusseldorf, new york, tunis and zagreb), which will generate various artistic formats - performances, choreographies and theatre works as well as installations, interventions, lectures, workshops and an academy / conference until the end of 2015.


www.theatercombinat.com theatrale produktion und rezeption