theatercombinat | 28th november 2020 film streaming presented by goethe-institut chicago (us) | 28th/30th/31st october 2020 FFT juta, FFT düsseldorf (d) | 9th/10th/11th october 2020 – a solo performance by claudia bosse. halle G, tanzquartier wien (a). ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1 or the evacuation of the present claudia bosse / theatercombinat.

sprache/language: deutsch/english


dossier
press photos
selected press (de)

press reviews (de):
- TQW-magazin: speak organ speak, thomas köck
- der standard: flügelschlag der einsamen lunge
- skug: zerlegung fragiler zustände
- les nouveaux riches: claudia bosse. oracle and sacrifice.
- grundrauschen: claudia bosse in conversation about myths and oracles
- rheinische post: mal die organe baumeln lassen.
- FAQ: die evakuierung der gegenwart
- tanz.at: claudia bosse orakelt am tanzquartier wien

- MITschrift der performance am 11.oktober 2020 von sabina holzer
- reflection one the performance on october 31st 2020 by constantin leonhard

artist statement video

radio-interview with claudia bosse on "grundrauschen" about oracle and sacrifice

radio-interview with claudia bosse, julia zastava and fanti baum, radio ORANGE 94.0

ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1
or the evacuation of the present
a solo performance by claudia bosse
and accomplices and organs

time which penetrates into images
time as decay of the surface
time that bends
penetratable decomposes
worms
transient
sewing embroidery stitching
the foresight the premonition
sculpture and assemblage

as claudia bosse's first solo, ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1 is a thinking with one's own body. an evacuation of the present with poetic actions that explore the future and the past to oracles and sacrifices that touch the inside and outside of the body and the inside and outside of our world.

is it possible to read the ecology of the environment, the surrounding exterior, world-political decisions and cosmic conditions from the organs? or do we find future forms of community in the physical interior? what if we carry our future in our organs?

this work is inspired by the blood sacrifices and visions of the babylonians and etruscans where the political future was read from the organs of killed animals. the liver oracle was especially practiced by the etruscans; organs of animals killed in a sacrificial ritual were interpreted. experts, so-called haruspices (lat. haruspicius (lat. haru: viscera), read world events from the liver of a sheep by means of a cosmic transmission and thus gave recommendations for political decisions. in liver oracles, macrocosmic concerns were derived from the microorganism of a liver. organs became the medium of poetic oracles and communication with the future. perhaps sacrifices are rituals of collective agreement that deal with the trauma that demands the protection of the endangered community.

the handling of organs, their material, structure, function, pattern, their pathologization in our rationalized society is essential for this work. aesthetic transfers will arise - between organ structures, their textures and the world, the cosmos - objects and visualizations of the connection of the present with a future. the organs and their abstractions, their object-like growths as well as the cartographies of their transfer to structures of the present are negotiated in this work as tangible material. with organs, connections are created from the inside of the body to the outside of the world. a fragmentary association to oracle and sacrifice as an object-like and performative narrative with body/s and visual material. movements, transformations, sounds, language, sounds.

ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1 opens a space in which the future and the identities of contemporary subjectivation are challenged. a choreography, a ritual as a growth of forms of implementation, as a speculation on an uncertain future. it is about nothing less than our bodies, our organs, their relationship to the world, dead flesh, the constitution of community.

in the summer of 2021 ORACLE and SACRIFICE moves to the forests of vienna as a continuing work with choir.

accomplices of this work are julia zastava, günther auer, claudia bosse and jonas tonnhofer.

 


ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1, tanzquartier wien, 2020.
photo: eva würdinger, click to view photo series

concept, space, performance: claudia bosse
accomplices: julia zastava (artistic collaboration), günther auer (sound + artistic advice), claudia bosse (on stage), jonas tonnhofer (on stage)
outside eye: fanti baum, philipp gehmacher
technical director + special effects: marco tölzer
light: phoenix / andreas hofer
assistance of communication: oliver maus
press ambassador: michael franz woels
head of production + preparations: dagmar tröstler

a production by theatercombinat in coproduction with the tanzquartier wien and FFT düsseldorf, supported by wien kultur, the austrian ministry for art and culture and by kunststiftung NRW as part of the co-production cycle "who is speaking?".

a thank you to thomas feuerstein, laura gianvittorio, ulrike haß, anne juren, ismael karadza, mun wai lee, elisabeth von samsonow, chris standtfest, robert steijn, lucie strecker, felicitas thun-hohenstein, dea widya and eduard winter.


ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1
or the evacuation of the present

a solo performance by claudia bosse
and accomplices and organs

28th november 2020, 10pm – 5am (MET)
film streaming
presented by the goethe-institut chicago
streaming link

following the streaming, there will be an artist talk on the 29th november, 8pm (MET) with petra roggel (director of the goethe institute chicago), david j. levin (professor for theater and performance, university of chicago), tina post (assistant professor for theater & performance, university of chicago) and claudia bosse.
artist talk registration

premiere: 9th october 2020
10th october 2020
11th october 2020

TQW, halle G
museumsplatz 1,
1070 vienna (at)

following the show on 10th october, there will be an artist talk with angela stief (curator of albertina modern) and claudia bosse.

28th/30th/31st october 2020
FFT düsseldorf, FFT juta
kasernenstraße 6,
40213 düsseldorf (d)

before the show on 30th october, theater scholar ulrike haß will give a lecture.
video documentation (de)

teaser: julia zastava

trailer: markus gradwohl (camera) julia zastava (cut)

artist talk with claudia bosse and curator angela stief.
october 10th, 2020. tanzquartier wien.

 

PREVIOUS PROJECTS IN THE ARTISTIC SERIES ORACLE and SACRIFICE:
the tanzquartier-lab oracle and sacrifice took place from june 2nd to june 6th 2020 at lessouterrains! in digital and analogue presence of the artist julia zastava, the performer and dramaturge robert steijn, the indonesian architect and artist dea widya, the latinist laura gianvittorio and the visual artist and philisopher elisabeth von samsonow as well as an extended lab in berlin with the theatre scholar ulrike haß.


www.theatercombinat.com theatrale produktion und rezeption

theatercombinat | 28. november 2020 film streaming präsentiert vom goethe-institut chicago (us) | 28./30./31. oktober 2020 FFT juta, FFT düsseldorf (d) | 9./10./11. oktober 2020 – ein solo von claudia bosse. halle G, tanzquartier wien (a). ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1 oder die evakuierung der gegenwart claudia bosse / theatercombinat.

sprache/language: deutsch/english


dossier
pressefotos
pressespiegel

pressestimmen:
- TQW-magazin, thomas köck
- der standard
- skug
- les nouveaux riches
- grundrauschen
- rheinische post
- FAQ
- tanz.at

reflexionen:
- sabina holzer (performerin, autorin und bewegungs- pädagogin)
- constantin leonhard (schauspieler, regisseur und performer)
- riyadhus shalihin (künstler, forscher und theaterautor)
- oliver maus (journalist)

interviews:
- the foam, the hair, the organs. claudia bosse interviewed by frida robles (en)
- radio-interview mit claudia bosse bei "grundrauschen"
- radio-interview mit claudia bosse, julia zastava und fanti baum, radio ORANGE 94.0

artist statement video

ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1
oder die evakuierung der gegenwart
claudia bosse, ein solo
und kompliz*innen und organen

zeit die in bilder dringt
zeit als zerfall der oberfläche
zeit die sich dellt
eindringbar macht sich zersetzt
gewürm
zeit durchwandernd
nähen sticken zernähen vernähen
die vorausschau die ahnung
skulptur und assemblage

als erstes solo von claudia bosse ist ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1 ein denken mit dem eigenen körper. eine evakuierung der gegenwart mit poetischen handlungen, die in der zukunft und vergangenheit zu orakeln und opferungen forschen, die das innere und äußere des körpers und das innere und äußere unserer welt betasten.

lässt sich die ökologie der umwelt, das umgebende äußere, weltpolitische entscheidungen und kosmische verhältnisse aus den organen lesen? oder finden wir kommende formen von gemeinschaft im körperlich inneren? was wäre, wenn wir unsere zukunft in unseren organen tragen?

diese arbeit ist inspiriert von blutopfern und eingeweideschauen der babylonier und etrusker bei denen aus den organen getöteter tiere die politische zukunft gelesen wurde. das leberorakel wurde insbesondere von etruskern praktiziert; organe von in einem opferritual getöteten tieren wurden interpretiert. experten, sogenannte haruspizien (lat. haru: eingeweide), lasen anhand einer kosmischen übertragung aus der leber eines schafes das weltgeschehen und gaben so empfehlungen zu politischen entscheidungen. bei leber orakeln wurden makrokosmische belange aus dem mikroorganismus einer leber abgeleitet. organe werden zum medium poetischer orakel und der kommunikation mit der zukunft. vielleicht sind opferungen rituale kollektiver übereinkunft, die das trauma bearbeiten welches den schutz der gefährdeten gemeinschaft einfordern.

der umgang mit organen, ihre materie, struktur, funktion, musterung, ihre pathologisierung in unserer rationalisierten gesellschaft ist für diese arbeit wesentlich. es werden ästhetische übertragungen entstehen – zwischen organstrukturen, ihren texturen und der welt, dem kosmos – objekte und visualisierungen der verbindung des gegenwärtigen mit einem zukünftigen. die organe und ihre abstraktionen, ihre objekthaften wucherungen sowie die kartografien ihrer übertragung auf strukturen der gegenwart werden in dieser arbeit als berührbares material verhandelt. mit organen werden verbindungen vom inneren des körpers ins äußere der welt geschaffen. ein fragmentarisches assoziieren zu oracle and sacrifice als eine objekthafte und performative erzählweise mit körper/n und bildnerischem material. bewegungen, transformationen, töne, sprache, laute.

ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1 eröffnet einen raum, in dem die zukunft und die identitäten gegenwärtiger subjektivierung herausgefordert werden. eine choreografie, ein ritual als über die zeit wucherndes gebilde von umsetzungsformen, als spekulation einer ungewissen zukunft. es geht um nichts weniger als um unsere körper, unsere organe, ihr verhältnis zur welt, totes fleisch, um die konstitution von gemeinschaft.

im sommer 2021 verlagert sich ORACLE and SACRIFICE als weiterführende arbeit mit chor in die wälder von wien.

kompliz*innen dieser arbeit sind julia zastava, günther auer, claudia bosse und jonas tonnhofer.


 

ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1, tanzquartier wien, 2020.
foto: eva würdinger, für fotostrecke bitte klicken

konzept, raum, performance: claudia bosse
kompliz*innen: julia zastava (artistic collaboration), günther auer (sound + artistic advice), claudia bosse (on stage), jonas tonnhofer (on stage)
outside eye: fanti baum, philipp gehmacher
technische leitung + special effects: marco tölzer
licht: phoenix/ andreas hofer
mitarbeit kommunikation: oliver maus
presse ambassador: michael franz woels
produktion + präparate: dagmar tröstler

eine produktion von theatercombinat in koproduktion mit dem tanzquartier wien und FFT düsseldorf, gefördert von wien kultur, vom bundesministerium für kunst und kultur und durch die kunststiftung NRW im rahmen der koproduktionsreihe „who is speaking?”.

danke an thomas feuerstein, laura gianvittorio, ulrike haß, anne juren, ismael karadza, mun wai lee, elisabeth von samsonow, chris standtfest, robert steijn, lucie strecker, felicitas thun-hohenstein, dea widya und eduard winter.


ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1
oder die evakuierung der gegenwart

ein solo von claudia bosse
und kompliz*innen und organen

28. november 2020, 22 uhr – 5 uhr
film streaming
präsentiert vom goethe-institut chicago (us)
streaming link

anschließend an das film streaming findet am 29. november um 20 uhr ein artist talk mit petra roggel (direktorin des goethe institut chicago), david j. levin (professor für performance & theater, university of chicago), tina post (assistenz professur performance & theater, university of chicago) und claudia bosse statt.
artist talk registration

uraufführung: 9. oktober 2020
10. oktober
11. oktober 2020

TQW, halle G
museumsplatz 1,
1070 wien

im anschluss an die show vom 10. oktober findet ein artist talk mit angela stief (kuratorin der albertina modern) und claudia bosse statt.

28./30./31. oktober 2020
FFT düsseldorf, FFT juta
kasernenstraße 6,
40213 düsseldorf (d)

vor der show am 30. oktober hält die theaterwissenschaftlerin ulrike haß einen vortrag.
zur videodokumentation

tanzuqartier wien, oktober 2020. 
videodokumentierung mit unterstützung des goethe-institut chicago (us)

teaser: julia zastava


claudia bosse im artist talk mit kuratorin angela stief.
10. oktober 2020, tanzquartier wien.

 

bisher in der künstlerischen serie ORACLE and SACRIFICE:
als erste annäherung fand vom 2. bis 6. juni 2020 ein labor oracle and sacrifice statt, mit der künstlerin julia zastava, dem performer und dramaturgen robert steijn, der indonesischen architektin und künstlerin dea widya, der latinistin laura gianvittorio und der bildenden künstlerin und philisophin elisabeth von samsonow sowie beim extented lab in berlin mit der theaterwissenschaftlerin ulrike haß. im oktober 2020 präsentierte claudia bosse mit ORACLE and SACRIFICE 1 oder die evakuierung der gegenwart ihr erstes solo mit kompliz*innen und organen im tanzquartier wien, deutschlandpremiere der performance war mitte oktober im fft düsseldorf. im sommer 2021 wird die serie mit ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods als arbeit mit chor in den wäldern von wien weitergeführt sowie eine residence im herbst 2021 im studio plesungan auf java, indonesien.


www.theatercombinat.com theatrale produktion und rezeption