theatercombinat | 15th/16th/18th march 2018 – performance, in the framework of tanzplattform deutschland 2018, kokerei zollverein, essen (d)| 17th – 19th november 2016 – world premiere, in the framework of "international coproductions. living dead - spukgestalten im theater der gegenwart", FFT duesseldorf (d). the last IDEAL PARADISE by claudia bosse / theatercombinat.

sprache/language: deutsch/english


press review (pdf)

tv report about the tanzplattform 2018, wdr

review
"on the last IDEAL PARADISE and the potential for political theater" by noah zeldin

part of the cycle: (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise

further projects in the series IDEAL PARADISE:
- a first step to IDEAL PARADISE
- a second step to IDEAL PARADISE
- a third step to IDEAL PARADISE
- urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE
- IDEAL PARADISE clash
- IDEAL PARADISE
- IDEAL PARADISE shifting space
- urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE ukraine

in the hangar and the spaces of the former loading station of the postal service the steps of the rampant process of IDEAL PARADISE and its several steps will be brought together. IDEAL PARADISE has begun as an insallation with interviews from cairo and athens reflecting the political situations, crises and social upheavals and thinking about religion, democracy, ways of living, concepts of freedom and political alternatives. it played on 6 acoustically arranged and speaking spaces of the weltmuseum vienna in the new hofburg using the material from the ethnographic collection, objects and videos; burst into the city nomadically; made a stop off at tanzquartier vienna; connected informed spaces and a a fallow site in a urban composition and recently unfolded a performative landscape in bucharest.


together with a choir of citizens from duesseldorf and the performers léonard bertholet (d), robert jackson (e), rotraud kern, mun wai lee (e), alexandra sommerfeld, florian tröbinger and ilse urbanek the regimes of our present and possibilities of living together are questioned and a work by claudia bosse evolves about social constellations, rituals and political thoughts. the last IDEAL PARADISE is an installation, a choreography, a performance, an inventory of a working process, that is combining the political present and history with rituals and myths, negotiating terrorism, territory and appropriation, projections and constellations of our cultural and political (un)conscious. a multi media space with sounds by günther auer, videos, objects, changing constellations, language, choric speech, with texts of genesis, by judith butler and étienne balibar, movement and encounters. a journey through a working process and spaces that were used to send objects and messages into the world.


IDEAL PARADISE @ tanzplattform 2018, kokerei zollverein, salzlager. photo: christian schuller, click to view photo series

IDEAL PARADISE,former postal loading service düsseldorf, 2016. photo: claudia bosse, click to view photo series

concept/space/ objects/ choreography: claudia bosse; sound/media: günther auer; performance: léonard bertholet (d), robert jackson (e), rotraud kern, mun wai lee (e), alexandra sommerfeld, florian tröbinger, ilse urbanek; choir: uwe bähr, sven bernick (e), hannelore bohm, izabela folek, rosemarie hofsess-kerkhoff, jürgen klein, werner klüfer, mathias meis, verena meis, inge müller, georg nocke, judith pieper, lena roord (e), sina-marie schneller (d); critical witness: kathrin tiedemann; assistant: dagmar tröstler (e), vicky klug (d); technical director: marco tölzer; choir coordination: sina-marie schneller (d); communication/dramaturgical assistant: vicky klug (e), anna etteldorf (d); administration: roma janus (e), margot wehinger (d)

a production by theatercombinat, a coproduction with FFT dusseldorf, supported by wien kultur. the working cycle IDEAL PARADISE is coproduced by FFT dusseldorf, tanzquartier vienna, ImPulsTanz – Vienna International Dance Festival 2015, weltmuseum wien, donaufestival 2015.

project partners of the overall project (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise are tanzquartier vienna, FFT dusseldorf, donaufestival, supported by wien kultur, kunststiftung NRW and NPN nationales performance netz in the framework of the series "DECOLONIZE! performative strategies for a (post)colonial age" at FFT, ashkal alwan, CLUSTER, szenenwechsel (robert bosch foundation), workspacebrussels.


the last IDEAL PARADISE
performance
in the framework of tanzplattform deutschland 2018
15th march 2018, 5pm
16th march 2018, 3pm
18th march 2018, 2pm

salzlager, kokerei zollverein
arendahls wiese
areal c, building 88
45141 essen (d)


world premiere
17th – 19th november 2016, 7pm
in the framework of "international coproductions. living dead - spukgestalten im theater der gegenwart", FFT duesseldorf. former postal loading service, kölner straße 114, 40227 duesseldorf

director of photography: tom jasny, editor: juliana lindenhofer


the last IDEAL PARADISE is part of the series IDEAL PARADISE, that is the last chapter of the research cycle (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise that has started in 2013 dealing with the configuration of the (political) reality and its ideological constructions. (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise by claudia bosse and a group of international artists, dancers, performers and theoreticians investigates the structure of catastrophe as a tipping point of society and generates several formats like performances, choreographies, theatre works, installations, interventions, lectures and workshops. sometimes the collection of interviews, some democratic fictions, that has been emerging in collaboration with günther auer since 2011 and consists of personal conversations about democracy, freedom, terrorism, state, history, identity conducted in cities like new york, tunis, cairo, frankfurt, zagreb, tel aviv, brussels and beirut.


PREVIOUS PROJECTS IN THE CYCLE (katastrophen 11/15) IDEAL PARADISE:
method body / lecture by claudia bosse in the framework of scores "intact bodies". thoughts meet space in may / june 2013 was an installation in 18 different spaces where the interviews were confronted with media scenarios of spelling reality. here, for the first time, the majority of the archive material became part of this artistic operation called “thoughts meet space”, as a virtual space of three-dimensional thought presented in the old customs canteen in vienna accompanied by 2 performances in relation to the installation the breath of thoughts and death as well as closing act as a coproduction with tanzquartier vienna. the installation thoughts meet space beirut in october was a continuation of that artistic method and presents parts of the archive material combined with photos and objects created and collected in beirut as well as interviews. (in)valid bodies, lecture by claudia bosse in november 2013 in the framework of the symposium "public bodies", FFT dusseldorf and heinrich heine university. showing and discussion in december 2013 / the rehearsals of what about catastrophes? in the framework of the seminary "aesthetic and poetic" - performance theory and -praxis" of the university vienna, monika meister / daniela pillgrab. katastrophen: momente des umschlags in december 2013 was a research workshop by claudia bosse at tanzquartier wien. in a one-week working situation a group of artists and theoreticians met in order to concern themselves with the function and structure of catastrophe in our society, based on their respective artistic, compositional, urban or philosophical practice and based on their methods and materials. with guenther auer, claudia bosse, alain franco, omar nagati, sandra noeth and marcus steinweg. in april 2014 was the world premiere of what about catastrophes? with 4 performances at tanzquartier vienna. in september 2014 in dusseldorf was the world premiere of catastrophic paradise in coproduction with FFT dusseldorf in the framework of the series "DECOLONIZE! performative strategies for a (post)colonial age". in this context took place the symposium politics of paradise and catastrophes. thoughts meet space athens in october was a site-specific multimedia installation at Bhive in athens, turning the neoclassical villa into a talking house, speaking with voices of the transnational archive of thoughts. the installation thoughts meet space cairo presented at hotel viennoise the nomadic archive. for the second time interviews had been conducted in cairo after 2011. the installation was accompanied by a 5 day event called reflection zone that functions as a discursive and performative salon with contributions of artists and theoreticians based in cairo. in march 2015 the performance catastrophic paradise was translated from the version for a complex, multi-part building into a version for the specific conditions of tqw / halle G. in april / may 2015, at the donaufestival in krems the performance and installation a first step to IDEAL PARADISE created a workroom about rituals and political thought. this work was the first sketch for the new production IDEAL PARADISE, the last part in the overall project of (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise. the next step in this series took place at ImPulsTanz festival 2015: alongside the topics colonialism, cultural projection, construction of ideology(ies) and ideal communities the installation a second step to IDEAL PARADISE created walk-in narrations in an ensemble of spaces in the weltmuseum vienna. in a third step to IDEAL PARADISE this installation became a score of a choreographed performance. as performative practice urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE intervened from october until december 2015 in different spaces in vienna and translated the experiences and materials of the former steps of IDEAL PARADISE as methodical intrusions into the city. in IDEAL PARADISE clash the absent spaces of the previous interventions and performative installations were interrelated in the theatre space of tanzquartier vienna's halle G through sound-recordings, choreographic compositions and body memories. the nomadic urban composition IDEAL PARADISE was spread into the city and played as a choreography of cohabitation and utopian togetherness on different places like a fallow site in the 6th viennese district, the hangar of the second hand shop carla mittersteig, the belvedere and the paths in between. in bucharest IDEAL PARADISE shifting space unfolded an installation that became a performance. urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE ukraine is built on the performative practice in vienna and will examine the until 2017 the public space in lviv and kiev, taking into account the architectural, political and legal situation in the ukraine. thoughts meet space cairo in vienna was a laboratory and a walk-in installation as a continuation of the same-named installation that was taking place in cairo and was presented at tqw in november 2016 as a research and installation with live performance. as the final project of the cycle the last IDEAL PARADISE brought together the several steps and the material of the rampant series IDEAL PARADISE in the former loading station in dusseldorf.


www.theatercombinat.com theatrale produktion und rezeption

theatercombinat | 17. - 19. november 2016 - uraufführung, im rahmen von "internationale koproduktionen. living dead - spukgestalten im theater der gegenwart", FFT düsseldorf (d). the last IDEAL PARADISE von claudia bosse / theatercombinat.

sprache/language: deutsch/english


dossier
programmheft

presse:
- "es wird keine nacht mehr geben", junge bühne
- "'ideal paradise': spurensuche an einem besonderen ort", westdeutsche zeitung

reflexionen:
-"on the last ideal paradise and the potential for political theater", noah zeldin
- reflexion von constantin schaedle

teil des zyklus: (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise

weitere projekte der serie IDEAL PARADISE:
- a first step to IDEAL PARADISE
- a second step to IDEAL PARADISE
- a third step to IDEAL PARADISE
- urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE
- IDEAL PARADISE clash
- IDEAL PARADISE
- IDEAL PARADISE shifting space
- urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE ukraine

 

in den hallen und räumen der alten postverladestelle in düsseldorf wird das material des wuchernden prozesses von IDEAL PARADISE und seine unterschiedlichen stationen zusammengeführt. IDEAL PARADISE begann als installation mit interviews aus kairo und athen, die die politische situation, krisen und gesellschaftliche umbrüche reflektieren und nachdenken über religion und demokratie, über lebensweisen und freiheitsbegriffe sowie politische alternativen. im weltmuseum wien wurden 6 akustisch gestaltete und sprechende räume der neuen hofburg mit material aus der ethnografischen sammlung, objekten und videos bespielt; dann breitete sich der prozess nomadisierend in die stadt aus; legte im tanzquartier wien station ein; verband informierte und brachliegende räume in einer stadtkomposition als fragile gemeinschaft und entfaltete zuletzt in bukarest eine performative landschaft.
gemeinsam mit einem chor von bürger_innen aus düsseldorf sowie den performer_innen léonard bertholet, rotraud kern, alexandra sommerfeld, florian tröbinger und ilse urbanek werden die ordnungen unserer gegenwart befragt und es entsteht eine arbeit von claudia bosse über gesellschaftliche konstellationen, zu ritualen und politischem denken. the last IDEAL PARADISE ist eine installation, eine choreografie, eine performance und eine bestandsaufnahme eines arbeitsprozesses, der politische gegenwart und geschichte mit ritualen und mythen verbindet, sich auseinandersetzt mit terrorismus, territorium und einverleibung, projektionen und konstellationen unseres kulturell und politisch (un-)bewussten. ein mehrmedialer raum mit sounds von günther auer, videos, objekten, sich verändernden konstellationen, sprache, chorischem sprechen, bewegung und begegnungen. eine reise durch einen arbeitsprozess und räume, von denen aus objekte und nachrichten in die welt verschickt wurden.


für fotostrecke bitte klicken

fotos: claudia bosse


video: juliana lindenhofer, kamera: tom jasny

konzept/raum/künstlerische leitung: claudia bosse; sound/media: günther auer; von/mit: léonard bertholet, rotraud kern, alexandra sommerfeld, florian tröbinger, ilse urbanek; chor: uwe bähr, hannelore bohm, rosemarie hofsess-kerkhoff, jürgen klein, werner klüfer, verena meis, inge müller, georg nocke, judith pieper, sina-marie schneller, mathias wittmann; critical witness: kathrin tiedemann; assistenz: vicky klug; technische leitung: marco tölzer; chor-koordination: sina-marie schneller; kommunikation/dramaturgische mitarbeit: anna etteldorf; administration: margot wehinger

eine produktion von theatercombinat, eine koproduktion mit FFT düsseldorf, gefördert von wien kultur. der arbeitszyklus IDEAL PARADISE ist koproduziert von FFT düsseldorf, tanzquartier wien, ImPulsTanz – Vienna International Dance Festival 2015, weltmuseum wien, donaufestival 2015.

projektpartner des gesamtprojekts (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise sind tanzquartier wien, FFT düsseldorf, donaufestival, gefördert von wien kultur, unterstützt von kunststiftung NRW und NPN nationales performance netz im rahmen der serie "DECOLONIZE! performative strategien für ein (post)koloniales zeitalter" am FFT, ashkal alwan, CLUSTER, szenenwechsel (robert bosch stiftung).


the last IDEAL PARADISE
uraufführung
17. - 19. november 2016, jeweils 19.00h
im rahmen von "internationale koproduktionen. living dead - spukgestalten im theater der gegenwart", FFT düsseldorf

ort:
alte postverladestelle,
kölner straße 114
40227 düsseldorf

 
 

the last IDEAL PARADISE ist teil der serie IDEAL PARADISE, die sich als letzter teil der 2013 begonnenen research-reihe (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise mit der konfiguration der (politischen) wirklichkeit und ihren ideologischen konstruktionen auseinandersetzt. (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise von claudia bosse und einer gruppe internationaler künstler_innrn, tänzer_innen, performer_innen und theoretiker_innen untersucht bis 2017 die struktur der katastrophe als kippbild der gesellschaft und generiert verschiedene künstlerische formate – sowohl performances, choreografien, theaterarbeiten, als auch installationen, interventionen, lectures und workshop. dabei greift claudia bosse teilweise auf ihre sammlung aus interviews, some democratic fictions, zurück, die seit 2011 in zusammenarbeit mit günther auer aus persönlichen gesprächen über demokratie, freiheit, terrorismus, staat, geschichte, identität in städten wie new york, kairo, tunis, frankfurt, zagreb, tel aviv, brüssel und beirut entstanden ist.

 
 

BISHERIGE PROJEKTE DES ZYKLUS (katastrophen 11/15) IDEAL PARADISE:
method body / lecture von claudia bosse im rahmen von scores "intact bodies". die installation thoughts meet space im mai / juni 2013 fand in 18 verschiedenen räumen der ehemaligen zollamtskantine in wien statt. die dafür verwendeten interviews stehen in konfrontation mit medialen szenarien von realität. erstmals wurde hier die mehrheit des archivierten materials für die künstlerische operation "thoughts meet space" verwendet, als ein virtueller raum von dreidimensionalen gedanken, begleitet von 2 performances in der installation the breath of thoughts and death sowie closing act, in koproduktion mit tanzquartier wien. die installation thoughts meet space beirut im oktober 2013 war eine fortsetzung dieses künstlerischen verfahrens und präsentierte teile des archivmaterials sowie in beirut entstandene bilder und objekte sowie interviews (in)valid bodies, vortrag claudia bosse im november 2013 im rahmen des symposiums "public bodies", FFT düsseldorf und heinrich heine universität. showing und diskussion im dezember 2013 der proben von what about catastrophes? im rahmen des seminars "ästhetik und poetik" - performancetheorie und -praxis" der universität wien, monika meister / daniela pillgrab. katastrophen: momente des umschlags im dezember 2013 war ein research workshop von claudia bosse im tanzquartier wien. in einer einwöchigen arbeitssituation begegnete sich eine gruppe künstler und theoretiker, um sich aus ihrer jeweiligen künstlerischen, kompositorischen, urbanistischen oder philosophischen praxis und ausgehend von ihren methoden und materialien, mit der funktion und der struktur der katastrophe in unserer gesellschaft zu beschäftigen. mit günther auer, claudia bosse, alain franco, omar nagati, sandra noeth und marcus steinweg. im april 2014 uraufführung von what about catastrophes? mit 4 vorstellungen im tanzquartier wien. im september 2014 folgte die uraufführung von catastrophic paradise in koproduktion mit dem FFT düsseldorf im rahmen der reihe "DECOLONIZE! performative strategien für ein (post)koloniales zeitalter" in düsseldorf. in diesem rahmen fand auch das symposium politics of paradise and catastrophes statt. thoughts meet space athens wurde im oktober 2014 als ortsspezifische multimedia installation bei Bhive in athen gezeigt. die arbeit verwandelte das neoklassizistische haus von Bhive in ein sprechendes haus, sprechend mit den stimmen der transnationalen sammlung von gedanken. die installation thoughts meet space cairo präsentierte im hotel viennoise das nomadische archiv. zum zweiten mal wurden in kairo nach 2011 interviews geführt. begleitet wurde die installation von einem 5-tägigen event - reflection zone - als ein allabendlicher diskursiver und performativer salon mit beiträgen von in kairo arbeitenden künstlerInnen und theoretikerInnen. im märz 2015 wurde die performance catastrophic paradise von der version der uraufführung in düsseldorf für ein komplexes, mehrteiliges gebäude in eine version für die spezifischen bedingungen der tqw / halle G übersetzt. im april / mai 2015 kreierte die performance und installation a first step to IDEAL PARADISE beim donaufestival in krems einen werkraum zu ritualen und politischem denken. diese arbeit war die erste skizze zur neuen produktion IDEAL PARADISE, die den abschluss des gesamtprojekts (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise bildet. der nächste schritt fand in diesem entwicklungsprozess fand beim ImPulsTanz festival statt: die installation a second step to IDEAL PARADISE stellte entlang der themen kolonialismus, kulturelle projektion, konstruktion von ideologie(n) und ideale gemeinschaften begehbare erzählungen in einem ensemble von räumen im weltmuseum wien her. in a third step to IDEAL PARADISE wurde die installation zur partitur für eine choreografierte performance. das urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE intervenierte als performative praxis über mehrere monate hinweg, von oktober bis dezember 2015, in unterschiedliche räume in wien und übersetzte die erfahrungen und materialien der vorhergehenden schritte von IDEAL PARADISE als methodische eingriffe in die stadt. in IDEAL PARADISE clash wurden die nun abwesenden räume der bisherigen interventionen und performativen installationen im theaterraum der halle G durch sound-recordings, choreografische kompositionen und körpererinnerungen miteinander in beziehung gesetzt. die nomadische stadtkomposition IDEAL PARADISE breitete sich wieder in die stadt aus und bespielte als choreografie der kohabitation und des utopischen miteinanders orte wie eine brache im 6. wiener gemeindebezirk, die verkaufshalle des caritas-lagers carla mittersteig, das belvedere sowie die wege dazwischen. in bukarest entwarf IDEAL PARADISE shifting space eine installation, die zur performance wurde. das urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE ukraine knüpft an die performative praxis in praxis in wien an und untersucht bis ende 2017 den öffentlichen raum in kiew und lwiw unter berücksichtigung der architektonischen, politischen und rechtlichen gegebenheiten in der ukraine. thoughts meet space cairo in wien war ein labor und eine begehbare performative installation als weiterführung der gleichnamigen installation in kairo, die im november 2016 als research und installation mit live-perfromance im tqw präsentiert wurde. der abschluss des "katastrophen"-zyklus führte mit the last IDEAL PARADISE die stationen und das material der wuchernden serie IDEAL PARADISE in der alten postverladestelle in düsseldorf zusammen.


www.theatercombinat.com theatrale produktion und rezeption