theatercombinat | 25th/26th april 2015 - premiere | 30th april - 2nd may 2015 - installation, donaufestival krems (a).
a first step to IDEAL PARADISE claudia bosse / theatercombinat
in english and german.

sprache/language: deutsch/english


part of the cycle: (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise

further projects in the series IDEAL PARADISE:
- a first step to IDEAL PARADISE
- a second step to IDEAL PARADISE
- a third step to IDEAL PARADISE
- urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE
- IDEAL PARADISE clash
- IDEAL PARADISE
- IDEAL PARADISE shifting space
- urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE ukraine
- the last IDEAL PARADISE

 

a performance and an installation about rituals and political thought. a workroom. the departure material is a collection of interviews (some democratic fictions), which the artist claudia bosse has conducted in different cities around the world since 2011. it is the voices of people who reflect upon the political situations in which they live, crises, and social upheaval, thoughts about religion and democracy, about lifestyles and concepts of freedom as well as political alternatives. disembodied voices are housed in objects and materials in the installation a first step to IDEAL PARADISE; they bulge out of the various materialities and provoke artistic forms to speak. they encounter bodies without speech, the actions and rituals of the performers, and the movements of the observers. the performers are embedded in the landscape of the installation; they use objects, become a medium in the space, initiate movements, and contrast or augment verbal attempts towards orientation. choreographic arrangements emerge in this workroom of mental, ritual, and artistic operations; training for a future society, for a possible community between humans, things, and ideologies – for the ideal paradise.

after further preparation of the installation for the following weekend, the observers take over and become the protagonists of the space: voices and objects become activated and perhaps employed in the search for alternative economies, ethics, actions, and orientations.


photo: claudia bosse

concept/ installation/ director: claudia bosse; sound/ media support: günther auer; with/ by: caroline daish, alexandra sommerfeld, florian tröbinger, elizabeth ward, and ilse urbanek; technique: marco tölzer; clothes: diego rojas; production: margot wehinger, anna etteldorf; artistic management: silke bake  

a production by theatercombinat in coproduction with donaufestival. supported by wien kultur.

a first step to IDEAL PARADISE is a first working sketch for the new production IDEAL PARADISE and part of the overall project (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise, project partners are tanzquartier vienna, FFT dusseldorf, supported by wien kultur, kunststiftung NRW and NPN national performance network in the framework of the series "DECOLONIZE! performative strategies for a (post)colonial age", ashkal alwan, CLUSTER, szenenwechsel (robert bosch stiftung), workspacebrussels.


installation "a first step to IDEAL PARADISE" by claudia bosse, donaufestival, click to view the photo series

photos: david visnjic, performance "a first step to IDEAL PARADISE", donaufestival, click to view the photo series


performance
25th april 2015, 7pm
26th april 2015, 4.3pm

installation
30th april 2015, 6pm-8pm
1st may 2015, 2.30pm-8pm
2nd may 2015, 2.30pm-8pm

location: atelier kunstmeile krems,
steiner landstraße 3
 
 

a first step to IDEAL PARADISE is part of the series IDEAL PARADISE, that is the last chapter of the research cycle (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise that has started in 2013 dealing with the configuration of the (political) reality and its ideological constructions. (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise by claudia bosse and a group of international artists, dancers, performers and theoreticians investigates the structure of catastrophe as a tipping point of society and generates several formats like performances, choreographies, theatre works, installations, interventions, lectures and workshops. sometimes the collection of interviews, some democratic fictions, that has been emerging in collaboration with günther auer since 2011 and consists of personal conversations about democracy, freedom, terrorism, state, history, identity conducted in cities like new york, tunis, cairo, frankfurt, zagreb, tel aviv, brussels and beirut.

 
 

PREVIOUS PROJECTS IN THE CYCLE (katastrophen 11/15) IDEAL PARADISE:
method body / lecture by claudia bosse in the framework of scores "intact bodies". thoughts meet space in may / june 2013 was an installation in 18 different spaces where the interviews were confronted with media scenarios of spelling reality. here, for the first time, the majority of the archive material became part of this artistic operation called “thoughts meet space”, as a virtual space of three-dimensional thought presented in the old customs canteen in vienna accompanied by 2 performances in relation to the installation the breath of thoughts and death as well as closing act as a coproduction with tanzquartier vienna. the installation thoughts meet space beirut in october was a continuation of that artistic method and presents parts of the archive material combined with photos and objects created and collected in beirut as well as interviews. (in)valid bodies, lecture by claudia bosse in november 2013 in the framework of the symposium "public bodies", FFT dusseldorf and heinrich heine university. showing and discussion in december 2013 / the rehearsals of what about catastrophes? in the framework of the seminary "aesthetic and poetic" - performance theory and -praxis" of the university vienna, monika meister / daniela pillgrab. katastrophen: momente des umschlags in december 2013 was a research workshop by claudia bosse at tanzquartier wien. in a one-week working situation a group of artists and theoreticians met in order to concern themselves with the function and structure of catastrophe in our society, based on their respective artistic, compositional, urban or philosophical practice and based on their methods and materials. with guenther auer, claudia bosse, alain franco, omar nagati, sandra noeth and marcus steinweg. in april 2014 was the world premiere of what about catastrophes? with 4 performances at tanzquartier vienna. in september 2014 in dusseldorf was the world premiere of catastrophic paradise in coproduction with FFT dusseldorf in the framework of the series "DECOLONIZE! performative strategies for a (post)colonial age". in this context took place the symposium politics of paradise and catastrophes. thoughts meet space athens in october was a site-specific multimedia installation at Bhive in athens, turning the neoclassical villa into a talking house, speaking with voices of the transnational archive of thoughts. the installation thoughts meet space cairo presented at hotel viennoise the nomadic archive. for the second time interviews had been conducted in cairo after 2011. the installation was accompanied by a 5 day event called reflection zone that functions as a discursive and performative salon with contributions of artists and theoreticians based in cairo. in march 2015 the performance catastrophic paradise was translated from the version for a complex, multi-part building into a version for the specific conditions of tqw / halle G. in april / may 2015, at the donaufestival in krems the performance and installation a first step to IDEAL PARADISE created a workroom about rituals and political thought. this work was the first sketch for the new production IDEAL PARADISE, the last part in the overall project of (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise. the next step in this series took place at ImPulsTanz festival 2015: alongside the topics colonialism, cultural projection, construction of ideology(ies) and ideal communities the installation a second step to IDEAL PARADISE created walk-in narrations in an ensemble of spaces in the weltmuseum vienna. in a third step to IDEAL PARADISE this installation became a score of a choreographed performance. as performative practice urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE intervened from october until december 2015 in different spaces in vienna and translated the experiences and materials of the former steps of IDEAL PARADISE as methodical intrusions into the city. in IDEAL PARADISE clash the absent spaces of the previous interventions and performative installations were interrelated in the theatre space of tanzquartier vienna's halle G through sound-recordings, choreographic compositions and body memories. the nomadic urban composition IDEAL PARADISE was spread into the city and played as a choreography of cohabitation and utopian togetherness on different places like a fallow site in the 6th viennese district, the hangar of the second hand shop carla mittersteig, the belvedere and the paths in between. in bucharest IDEAL PARADISE shifting space unfolded an installation that became a performance. urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE ukraine is built on the performative practice in vienna and will examine the until 2017 the public space in lviv and kiev, taking into account the architectural, political and legal situation in the ukraine. thoughts meet space cairo in vienna was a laboratory and a walk-in installation as a continuation of the same-named installation that was taking place in cairo and was presented at tqw in november 2016 as a research and installation with live performance. as the final project of the cycle the last IDEAL PARADISE brought together the several steps and the material of the rampant series IDEAL PARADISE in the former loading station in dusseldorf.


www.theatercombinat.com theatrale produktion und rezeption

theatercombinat | 25./26. april 2015 - uraufführung | 30. april - 2. mai 2015 - installation, donaufestival krems (a).
a first step to IDEAL PARADISE claudia bosse / theatercombinat
in englischer und deutscher sprache.

sprache/language: deutsch/english


dossier

teil des zyklus: (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise

weitere projekte der serie IDEAL PARADISE:
- a second step to IDEAL PARADISE
- a third step to IDEAL PARADISE
- urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE
- IDEAL PARADISE clash
- IDEAL PARADISE
- IDEAL PARADISE shifting space
- urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE ukraine
- the last IDEAL PARADISE

 

eine performance und eine installation zu ritualen und politischem denken. ein werkraum. ausgangsmaterial ist eine sammlung von interviews (some democratic fictions), die die künstlerin claudia bosse seit 2011 in verschiedensten städten der welt führt. es sind stimmen von menschen, die die soziale und politische situation in der sie leben, krisen und gesellschaftliche umbrüche reflektieren, die nachdenken über religion und demokratie, über lebensweisen und freiheitsbegriffe sowie politische alternativen. es sind körperlose stimmen, die in der installation a first step to IDEAL PARADISE in objekten und materialien hausen, sich herauswölben aus unterschiedlichsten stofflichkeiten und bildnerische formen zum sprechen bringen. sie treffen auf körper ohne sprache, auf die aktionen und rituale der  performer_innen und die bewegungen der zuschauerinnen. die performer_innen sind eingelassen in die landschaft der installation, wenden objekte an, werden zum medium im raum, initiieren bewegungen und kontrastieren oder vergrößern die verbalen versuche der orientierung. in diesem werkraum der gedanklichen, rituellen und bildnerischen operationen bilden sich choreografische anordnungen; es wird trainiert für eine zukünftige gesellschaft, für eine mögliche gemeinschaft zwischen menschen, dingen und ideologien - für das ideale paradies.

nach der weiterentwicklung der installation für das folgende wochenende übernehmen die zuschauerInnen und werden zu den akteurInnen des raums: stimmen und objekte werden auf der suche nach alternativen ökonomien, ethiken, handlungen und orientierungen aktiviert und vielleicht angewendet.


foto: claudia bosse

konzept, installation, regie: claudia bosse, sound, media support: günther auer, performance: caroline daish, alexandra sommerfeld, florian tröbinger, elizabeth ward und ilse urbanek, technik: marco tölzer, bekleidung: diego rojas, produktion: margot wehinger, anna etteldorf, artistic management: silke bake 

eine produktion von theatercombinat in koproduktion mit donaufestival. gefördert von wien kultur

a first step to IDEAL PARADISE ist eine erste arbeitsskizze zur neuen produktion IDEAL PARADISE und ein teil des gesamtprojekts (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise, projektpartner sind tanzquartier wien, FFT düsseldorf, gefördert von wien kultur, unterstützt von kunststiftung NRW und NPN nationales performance netz im rahmen der serie "DECOLONIZE! performative strategien für ein (post)koloniales zeitalter", ashkal alwan, CLUSTER, szenenwechsel (robert bosch stiftung), workspacebrussels.


installation "a first step to IDEAL PARADISE" von claudia bosse, donaufestival, für fotostrecke bitte klicken

fotos: david visnjic, performance "a first step to IDEAL PARADISE", donaufestival, für fotostrecke bitte klicken


performance
25. april 2015, 19.00h
26. april 2015, 16.30h

installation
30. april 2015, 18.00h-20.00h
1. mai 2015, 14.30h-20.00h
2. mai 2015, 14.30h-20.00h

ort: atelier kunstmeile krems,
steiner landstraße 3
 
 

a first step to IDEAL PARADISE ist teil der serie IDEAL PARADISE, die sich als letzter teil der 2013 begonnenen research-reihe (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise mit der konfiguration der (politischen) wirklichkeit und ihren ideologischen konstruktionen auseinandersetzt. (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise von claudia bosse und einer gruppe internationaler künstler_innrn, tänzer_innen, performer_innen und theoretiker_innen untersucht bis 2017 die struktur der katastrophe als kippbild der gesellschaft und generiert verschiedene künstlerische formate – sowohl performances, choreografien, theaterarbeiten, als auch installationen, interventionen, lectures und workshop. dabei greift claudia bosse teilweise auf ihre sammlung aus interviews, some democratic fictions, zurück, die seit 2011 in zusammenarbeit mit günther auer aus persönlichen gesprächen über demokratie, freiheit, terrorismus, staat, geschichte, identität in städten wie new york, kairo, tunis, frankfurt, zagreb, tel aviv, brüssel und beirut entstanden ist.

 
 

BISHERIGE PROJEKTE DES ZYKLUS (katastrophen 11/15) IDEAL PARADISE:
method body / lecture von claudia bosse im rahmen von scores "intact bodies". die installation thoughts meet space im mai / juni 2013 fand in 18 verschiedenen räumen der ehemaligen zollamtskantine in wien statt. die dafür verwendeten interviews stehen in konfrontation mit medialen szenarien von realität. erstmals wurde hier die mehrheit des archivierten materials für die künstlerische operation "thoughts meet space" verwendet, als ein virtueller raum von dreidimensionalen gedanken, begleitet von 2 performances in der installation the breath of thoughts and death sowie closing act, in koproduktion mit tanzquartier wien. die installation thoughts meet space beirut im oktober 2013 war eine fortsetzung dieses künstlerischen verfahrens und präsentierte teile des archivmaterials sowie in beirut entstandene bilder und objekte sowie interviews (in)valid bodies, vortrag claudia bosse im november 2013 im rahmen des symposiums "public bodies", FFT düsseldorf und heinrich heine universität. showing und diskussion im dezember 2013 der proben von what about catastrophes? im rahmen des seminars "ästhetik und poetik" - performancetheorie und -praxis" der universität wien, monika meister / daniela pillgrab. katastrophen: momente des umschlags im dezember 2013 war ein research workshop von claudia bosse im tanzquartier wien. in einer einwöchigen arbeitssituation begegnete sich eine gruppe künstler und theoretiker, um sich aus ihrer jeweiligen künstlerischen, kompositorischen, urbanistischen oder philosophischen praxis und ausgehend von ihren methoden und materialien, mit der funktion und der struktur der katastrophe in unserer gesellschaft zu beschäftigen. mit günther auer, claudia bosse, alain franco, omar nagati, sandra noeth und marcus steinweg. im april 2014 uraufführung von what about catastrophes? mit 4 vorstellungen im tanzquartier wien. im september 2014 folgte die uraufführung von catastrophic paradise in koproduktion mit dem FFT düsseldorf im rahmen der reihe "DECOLONIZE! performative strategien für ein (post)koloniales zeitalter" in düsseldorf. in diesem rahmen fand auch das symposium politics of paradise and catastrophes statt. thoughts meet space athens wurde im oktober 2014 als ortsspezifische multimedia installation bei Bhive in athen gezeigt. die arbeit verwandelte das neoklassizistische haus von Bhive in ein sprechendes haus, sprechend mit den stimmen der transnationalen sammlung von gedanken. die installation thoughts meet space cairo präsentierte im hotel viennoise das nomadische archiv. zum zweiten mal wurden in kairo nach 2011 interviews geführt. begleitet wurde die installation von einem 5-tägigen event - reflection zone - als ein allabendlicher diskursiver und performativer salon mit beiträgen von in kairo arbeitenden künstlerInnen und theoretikerInnen. im märz 2015 wurde die performance catastrophic paradise von der version der uraufführung in düsseldorf für ein komplexes, mehrteiliges gebäude in eine version für die spezifischen bedingungen der tqw / halle G übersetzt. im april / mai 2015 kreierte die performance und installation a first step to IDEAL PARADISE beim donaufestival in krems einen werkraum zu ritualen und politischem denken. diese arbeit war die erste skizze zur neuen produktion IDEAL PARADISE, die den abschluss des gesamtprojekts (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise bildet. der nächste schritt fand in diesem entwicklungsprozess fand beim ImPulsTanz festival statt: die installation a second step to IDEAL PARADISE stellte entlang der themen kolonialismus, kulturelle projektion, konstruktion von ideologie(n) und ideale gemeinschaften begehbare erzählungen in einem ensemble von räumen im weltmuseum wien her. in a third step to IDEAL PARADISE wurde die installation zur partitur für eine choreografierte performance. das urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE intervenierte als performative praxis über mehrere monate hinweg, von oktober bis dezember 2015, in unterschiedliche räume in wien und übersetzte die erfahrungen und materialien der vorhergehenden schritte von IDEAL PARADISE als methodische eingriffe in die stadt. in IDEAL PARADISE clash wurden die nun abwesenden räume der bisherigen interventionen und performativen installationen im theaterraum der halle G durch sound-recordings, choreografische kompositionen und körpererinnerungen miteinander in beziehung gesetzt. die nomadische stadtkomposition IDEAL PARADISE breitete sich wieder in die stadt aus und bespielte als choreografie der kohabitation und des utopischen miteinanders orte wie eine brache im 6. wiener gemeindebezirk, die verkaufshalle des caritas-lagers carla mittersteig, das belvedere sowie die wege dazwischen. in bukarest entwarf IDEAL PARADISE shifting space eine installation, die zur performance wurde. das urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE ukraine knüpft an die performative praxis in praxis in wien an und untersucht bis ende 2017 den öffentlichen raum in kiew und lwiw unter berücksichtigung der architektonischen, politischen und rechtlichen gegebenheiten in der ukraine. thoughts meet space cairo in wien war ein labor und eine begehbare performative installation als weiterführung der gleichnamigen installation in kairo, die im november 2016 als research und installation mit live-perfromance im tqw präsentiert wurde. der abschluss des "katastrophen"-zyklus führte mit the last IDEAL PARADISE die stationen und das material der wuchernden serie IDEAL PARADISE in der alten postverladestelle in düsseldorf zusammen.


www.theatercombinat.com theatrale produktion und rezeption