theatercombinat | 15 – 20 may 2017 applied poetics in urban space – choreographic interventions in urban space, kyiv (ukr). by claudia bosse / theatercombinat in cooperation with urban curators kyiv. in the framework of the performative research urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE ukraine

sprache/language:deutsch/english


dossier (pdf)
photo book (pdf)
workshop diary (ukrainian)

press:
-article about claudia bosse's work in art ukraine, july 2017
-interview with claudia bosse in art ukraine, may 2017

in the framework of
urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE ukraine

applied poetics in urban space is a series of choreographic interventions in urban space that will explore 5 different areas in kyiv (obolon, teremky, maidan, moskovska und kontraktova) with the contribution of citizens. non-spaces, dysfunctional spaces, urban wounds and symbolic spaces will be compared and their potentials will be explored. the body will become an instrument, the public space will become an open studio of physical learning: what are the practices and the rhythms inscribed in spaces and in our bodies, the inscribed spatial practice? how can we use our body as a tool to disrupt functionalities and normatives of daily routines? how can we create resistant communities with our bodies? the tactics of this open studio practice will be documented, published online and spread via the participants.

the body is thereby the location and the archive of space experience and at the same time provides the potential for individual and collective practices. we will develop in situ choreographies that occur as temporal appropriation of the public space. they interrupt the rhythmic composition of the urban. the individual body thereby becomes public, takes over a place and appears (as a condition of the political) by learning and widening the inscriptions of urban reality. the workshop is a physical observation, it is an urban experimentation, it is a school of consciousness. it is a language of possibilities and a subversion of normative structures. it is a social sculpture which will permanently shift its contours, bring them into question by the constructive energy of all of its participants.

public space is understood as a place for permanent negotiations in this project. we believe in the coproduction of space by everyone, in the copresence of a multitude of networks and narratives in the urban space, in the layers of different usage of places without territorial marks and in the permanent activity which makes space liquid and not monumentalized.

the workshop is conceptualized and led by the german artist claudia bosse who is working on the co-authorship of space for artistic practice. she is a choreographer, theatre director and artist, internationally creating performances, multimedia installations and urban interventions. she is the artistic director of the transdisciplinary company theatercombinat in vienna and berlin.

urban curators as the local partner of this project is an independent, interdisciplinary agency that works in the field of architecture, urbanism and cultural management in kiyv. their mission is to create and revitalize urban space for public benefit, with the involvement of all stakeholders. they are confident that space is a result of joint interdisciplinary effort. they believe in public potential and support the right for the city.

applied poetics in urban space is part of the performative research urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE ukraine in kyiv and kharkiv.


photo: claudia bosse, click to view photo series

artistic director: claudia bosse; sound/media: günther auer; in collaboration with: urban curators: nastya ponomaryova, iryna yakovchuk; production manager kyiv: nin khodorivsko, oksana potapova; research: oleksandr vynogradov; communication theatercombinat: vicky klug; production manager theatercombinat: margot wehinger

with: piotr armianovski, kateryna buchatska, oleksandra davydenko lidiia demchenko, slavik fokin, polina gurska, oleksandra khalepa, marina, alyona mamay, dan voronov, lena om, stanislava ovchinnikova, nadia parfan, kateryna ponomarenko, jürgen rendl, olena rosstalna

a production by theatercombinat, in collaboration with urban curators kyiv, supported by wien kultur, austrian cultural forum kyiv, change of scene / robert bosch stiftung in cooperation with the german centre of the international theatre institute and the austrian federal chancellery. goethe institute supports urban curators for the transcriptions of applied poetics in urban space.


"applied poetics in urban space"– choreographic interventions in kyiv:
15th – 20th mai, 2 – 7pm
a project by claudia bosse, in collaboration with urban curators

presentation in vienna:
19th–22th april 2018

"about the political dimension of interventions in public space" – presentation by claudia bosse + panel discussion with hanna bondar (acting director of the department of city construction and architecture of kiev)
5th may 2017, 6pm
department of urban planning and architecture, university kyiv, khreshchatyk street 32, 01601 kyiv


urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE ukraine is part of the series IDEAL PARADISE, that is the last chapter of the research cycle (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise that has started in 2013 dealing with the configuration of the (political) reality and its ideological constructions. (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise by claudia bosse and a group of international artists, dancers, performers and theoreticians investigates the structure of catastrophe as a tipping point of society and generates several formats like performances, choreographies, theatre works, installations, interventions, lectures and workshops. sometimes the collection of interviews, some democratic fictions, that has been emerging in collaboration with günther auer since 2011 and consists of personal conversations about democracy, freedom, terrorism, state, history, identity conducted in cities like new york, tunis, cairo, frankfurt, zagreb, tel aviv, brussels and beirut.


PREVIOUS PROJECTS IN THE CYCLE (katastrophen 11/15) IDEAL PARADISE:
method body / lecture by claudia bosse in the framework of scores "intact bodies". thoughts meet space in may / june 2013 was an installation in 18 different spaces where the interviews were confronted with media scenarios of spelling reality. here, for the first time, the majority of the archive material became part of this artistic operation called “thoughts meet space”, as a virtual space of three-dimensional thought presented in the old customs canteen in vienna accompanied by 2 performances in relation to the installation the breath of thoughts and death as well as closing act as a coproduction with tanzquartier vienna. the installation thoughts meet space beirut in october was a continuation of that artistic method and presents parts of the archive material combined with photos and objects created and collected in beirut as well as interviews. (in)valid bodies, lecture by claudia bosse in november 2013 in the framework of the symposium "public bodies", FFT dusseldorf and heinrich heine university. showing and discussion in december 2013 / the rehearsals of what about catastrophes? in the framework of the seminary "aesthetic and poetic" - performance theory and -praxis" of the university vienna, monika meister / daniela pillgrab. katastrophen: momente des umschlags in december 2013 was a research workshop by claudia bosse at tanzquartier wien. in a one-week working situation a group of artists and theoreticians met in order to concern themselves with the function and structure of catastrophe in our society, based on their respective artistic, compositional, urban or philosophical practice and based on their methods and materials. with guenther auer, claudia bosse, alain franco, omar nagati, sandra noeth and marcus steinweg. in april 2014 was the world premiere of what about catastrophes? with 4 performances at tanzquartier vienna. in september 2014 in dusseldorf was the world premiere of catastrophic paradise in coproduction with FFT dusseldorf in the framework of the series "DECOLONIZE! performative strategies for a (post)colonial age". in this context took place the symposium politics of paradise and catastrophes. thoughts meet space athens in october was a site-specific multimedia installation at Bhive in athens, turning the neoclassical villa into a talking house, speaking with voices of the transnational archive of thoughts. the installation thoughts meet space cairo presented at hotel viennoise the nomadic archive. for the second time interviews had been conducted in cairo after 2011. the installation was accompanied by a 5 day event called reflection zone that functions as a discursive and performative salon with contributions of artists and theoreticians based in cairo. in march 2015 the performance catastrophic paradise was translated from the version for a complex, multi-part building into a version for the specific conditions of tqw / halle G. in april / may 2015, at the donaufestival in krems the performance and installation a first step to IDEAL PARADISE created a workroom about rituals and political thought. this work was the first sketch for the new production IDEAL PARADISE, the last part in the overall project of (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise. the next step in this series took place at ImPulsTanz festival 2015: alongside the topics colonialism, cultural projection, construction of ideology(ies) and ideal communities the installation a second step to IDEAL PARADISE created walk-in narrations in an ensemble of spaces in the weltmuseum vienna. in a third step to IDEAL PARADISE this installation became a score of a choreographed performance. as performative practice urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE intervened from october until december 2015 in different spaces in vienna and translated the experiences and materials of the former steps of IDEAL PARADISE as methodical intrusions into the city. in IDEAL PARADISE clash the absent spaces of the previous interventions and performative installations were interrelated in the theatre space of tanzquartier vienna's halle G through sound-recordings, choreographic compositions and body memories. the nomadic urban composition IDEAL PARADISE was spread into the city and played as a choreography of cohabitation and utopian togetherness on different places like a fallow site in the 6th viennese district, the hangar of the second hand shop carla mittersteig, the belvedere and the paths in between. in bucharest IDEAL PARADISE shifting space unfolded an installation that became a performance. urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE ukraine is built on the performative practice in vienna and will examine the until 2017 the public space in lviv and kiev, taking into account the architectural, political and legal situation in the ukraine. thoughts meet space cairo in vienna was a laboratory and a walk-in installation as a continuation of the same-named installation that was taking place in cairo and was presented at tqw in november 2016 as a research and installation with live performance. as the final project of the cycle the last IDEAL PARADISE brought together the several steps and the material of the rampant series IDEAL PARADISE in the former loading station in dusseldorf.


www.theatercombinat.com theatrale produktion und rezeption

theatercombinat | 15. – 20. mai 2017 applied poetics in urban space – choreografische interventionen im öffentlichen raum kiews (ukr). von claudia bosse / theatercombinat in kooperation mit urban curators kiew. im rahmen des performativen rechercheprojekts urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE ukraine

sprache/language: deutsch/english





teilnehmer gesucht (pdf)
call for participation (pdf)
call in ukrainian (pdf)

teil des zyklus (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise

TEILNEHMER_INNEN FÜR CHOREOGRAFISCHE INTERVENTIONEN IN KIEW GESUCHT!


applied poetics in urban space
15.–20. mai 2017: 14–19.00h
kiew (ukr)
unter der leitung von claudia bosse, in kollaboration mit den urban curators kiew

für die teilnahme an choreografische interventionen an 5 verschiedenen urbanen orten in kiew suchen wir künstler_innen, nachbar_innen, bürger_innen, performer_innen, denker_innen, architekt_innen, tänzer_innen, urbanist_innen und aktivist_innen jeden alters. die interventionen werden während eines 6-tägigen workshops entwickelt. in diesem werden choreografische tools und techniken der körperarbeit vermittelt um den öffentlichen raum zu lesen und sich zu diesem in beziehung zu setzen.

keine spezifischen vorkenntnisse nötigt! voraussetzung ist eine regelmäßige teilnahme am workshop in kiew vom 15.–20. mai, jeweils 14–19.00h. kommunikationssprache ist englisch und ukrainisch. unsere praxis wird permanent öffentlich sein. bitte sende eine kurze email mit informationen zu dir und deiner motivation bis zum 21. april an poeticsinurbanspace@gmail.com

koordination public relations - nin khodorivsko (+380 937747529)
koordination teilnehmer_innen - oksana potapova (+380 506202727)
www.urbancurators.com.ua

applied poetics in urban space ist eine serie von choreografischen interventionen von stadtbewohner_innen an 5 orten in kiew: in obolon, teremky, maidan, moskovska und kontraktova. nicht-orte, dysfunktionale räume, urbane wunden und symbolische räume werden verglichen, ihre potentiale untersucht. der körper wird zu einem instrument, der öffentliche raum zu einem labor des körperlichen lernens: welche praktiken und rhythmen sind in räume und unsere körper eingeschrieben? wie kann der körper als tool verwendet werden um funktionalitäten und normative der alltäglichen routinen zu unterbrechen? wie können wir mit unseren körpern widerständige gemeinschaften bilden? die im offenen studio entwickelten taktiken werden dokumentiert, online veröffentlicht und über die teilnehmer_innen weiterverbreiten.

der körper ist dabei der ort and das archiv für raumerfahrung und gleichzeitig liefert er das potential für individuelle und kollektive praxen. wir werden in-situ-choreografien als zeitliche aneignungen von öffentlichem raum entwickeln. sie unterbrechen die rhythmische komposition des urbanen. der individuelle körper wird dabei öffentlich, nimmt einen raum ein und erscheint (als kondit ion des politischen) während er die einschreibungen der urbanen realität erlernt und erweitert. der workshop ist eine physische beobachtung, eine urbane versuchsanordnung, eine schule des bewusstseins. er ist eine sprache von möglichkeiten und eine subversion normativer strukturen. er ist eine soziale skulptur, die ständig ihre konturen ändert und diese durch die konstruktive energie aller teilnehmer_innen permanent hinterfragt.

der öffentliche raum wird in diesem projekt verstanden als ort für permanente aushandlungen. wir glauben an eine koproduktion von raum von allen, an die kopräsenz einer fülle von netzwerken und narrative im urbanen raum, an schichten von unterschiedlichen verwendungen von orten ohne territorialen setzungen/markierungen. wir glauben an eine permanenten aktivität/bewegung und veränderung, welche raum liquid/beweglich macht und nicht monumental festschreibt.

der workshop ist konzipiert und geleitet von der künstlerin claudia bosse, welche sich in ihren arbeiten mit der co-autorenschaft von räumen beschäftigt. sie ist choreografin, theaterregisseurin und künstlerische leiterin der transdisziplinären compagnie theatercombinat in wien und berlin. sie entwickelt international performances, multimedia-installationen und urbane interventionen.

urban curators, die lokalen partner dieses projekts in kiew, sind ein kollektiv von architekt_innen und urbanist_innen. ihre mission ist es, öffentliche räume zur nutzung aller zu erschaffen und wiederzubeleben. sie glauben an das öffentliche potential und proklamieren das recht auf stadt für alle.

applied poetics in urban space ist teil des performativ– experimentellen rechercheprojekts urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE ukraine in kiew und charkiw.


foto: claudia bosse

künstlerische leitung: claudia bosse; sound/media: gŁnther auer; in zusammenarbeit mit: urban curators: nastya ponomaryova, iryna yakovchuk; produktionsleitung kiew: nino khodorivska, oksana potapova, recherche: oleksandr vynogradov; kommunikation theatercombinat: vicky klug; produktionsleitung theatercombinat: margot wehinger

eine produktion von theatercombinat, in zusammenarbeit mit urban curators kiew, gefördert von wien kultur, goethe-institut, österreichisches kulturforum kiew und szenenwechsel – ein programm der robert bosch stiftung in kooperation mit dem internationalen theaterinstitut ITI sowie vom bundeskanzleramt österreich


"applied poetics in urban space" – choreografische interventionen in kiew:
15. – 20. mai, 14 – 19.00h
kiew (ukr)
in zusammenarbeit mit den urban curators – einem kollektiv von architekt_innen und urbanist_innen aus kiew

präsentation wien:
3 – 4 tage, november 2017

"über die politische dimension von interventionen im öffentlichen raum" – präsentation von claudia bosse + podiumsdiskussion mit hanna bondar (leiterin der abteilung für planung und architektur des kiewer stadtrates)
5. mai 2017,18.00h
fachbereich urbanistik und architektur, universität kiew, khreshchatyk str. 32, 01601 kiew

 
 

the last IDEAL PARADISE ist teil der serie IDEAL PARADISE, die sich als letzter teil der 2013 begonnenen research-reihe (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradisemit der konfiguration der (politischen) wirklichkeit und ihren ideologischen konstruktionen auseinandersetzt. (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise von claudia bosse und einer gruppe internationaler künstler_innrn, tänzer_innen, performer_innen und theoretiker_innen untersucht bis 2017 die struktur der katastrophe als kippbild der gesellschaft und generiert verschiedene künstlerische formate – sowohl performances, choreografien, theaterarbeiten, als auch installationen, interventionen, lectures und workshop. dabei greift claudia bosse teilweise auf ihre sammlung aus interviews, some democratic fictions, zurück, die seit 2011 in zusammenarbeit mit günther auer aus persönlichen gesprächen über demokratie, freiheit, terrorismus, staat, geschichte, identität in städten wie new york, kairo, tunis, frankfurt, zagreb, tel aviv, brüssel und beirut entstanden ist.

 
 

BISHERIGE PROJEKTE DES ZYKLUS (katastrophen 11/15) IDEAL PARADISE:
method body / lecture von claudia bosse im rahmen von scores "intact bodies". die installation thoughts meet space im mai / juni 2013 fand in 18 verschiedenen räumen der ehemaligen zollamtskantine in wien statt. die dafür verwendeten interviews stehen in konfrontation mit medialen szenarien von realität. erstmals wurde hier die mehrheit des archivierten materials für die künstlerische operation "thoughts meet space" verwendet, als ein virtueller raum von dreidimensionalen gedanken, begleitet von 2 performances in der installation the breath of thoughts and death sowie closing act, in koproduktion mit tanzquartier wien. die installation thoughts meet space beirut im oktober 2013 war eine fortsetzung dieses künstlerischen verfahrens und präsentierte teile des archivmaterials sowie in beirut entstandene bilder und objekte sowie interviews (in)valid bodies, vortrag claudia bosse im november 2013 im rahmen des symposiums "public bodies", FFT düsseldorf und heinrich heine universität. showing und diskussion im dezember 2013 der proben von what about catastrophes? im rahmen des seminars "ästhetik und poetik" - performancetheorie und -praxis" der universität wien, monika meister / daniela pillgrab. katastrophen: momente des umschlags im dezember 2013 war ein research workshop von claudia bosse im tanzquartier wien. in einer einwöchigen arbeitssituation begegnete sich eine gruppe künstler und theoretiker, um sich aus ihrer jeweiligen künstlerischen, kompositorischen, urbanistischen oder philosophischen praxis und ausgehend von ihren methoden und materialien, mit der funktion und der struktur der katastrophe in unserer gesellschaft zu beschäftigen. mit günther auer, claudia bosse, alain franco, omar nagati, sandra noeth und marcus steinweg. im april 2014 uraufführung von what about catastrophes? mit 4 vorstellungen im tanzquartier wien. im september 2014 folgte die uraufführung von catastrophic paradise in koproduktion mit dem FFT düsseldorf im rahmen der reihe "DECOLONIZE! performative strategien für ein (post)koloniales zeitalter" in düsseldorf. in diesem rahmen fand auch das symposium politics of paradise and catastrophes statt. thoughts meet space athens wurde im oktober 2014 als ortsspezifische multimedia installation bei Bhive in athen gezeigt. die arbeit verwandelte das neoklassizistische haus von Bhive in ein sprechendes haus, sprechend mit den stimmen der transnationalen sammlung von gedanken. die installation thoughts meet space cairo präsentierte im hotel viennoise das nomadische archiv. zum zweiten mal wurden in kairo nach 2011 interviews geführt. begleitet wurde die installation von einem 5-tägigen event - reflection zone - als ein allabendlicher diskursiver und performativer salon mit beiträgen von in kairo arbeitenden künstlerInnen und theoretikerInnen. im märz 2015 wurde die performance catastrophic paradise von der version der uraufführung in düsseldorf für ein komplexes, mehrteiliges gebäude in eine version für die spezifischen bedingungen der tqw / halle G übersetzt. im april / mai 2015 kreierte die performance und installation a first step to IDEAL PARADISE beim donaufestival in krems einen werkraum zu ritualen und politischem denken. diese arbeit war die erste skizze zur neuen produktion IDEAL PARADISE, die den abschluss des gesamtprojekts (katastrophen 11/15) ideal paradise bildet. der nächste schritt fand in diesem entwicklungsprozess fand beim ImPulsTanz festival statt: die installation a second step to IDEAL PARADISE stellte entlang der themen kolonialismus, kulturelle projektion, konstruktion von ideologie(n) und ideale gemeinschaften begehbare erzählungen in einem ensemble von räumen im weltmuseum wien her. in a third step to IDEAL PARADISE wurde die installation zur partitur für eine choreografierte performance. das urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE intervenierte als performative praxis über mehrere monate hinweg, von oktober bis dezember 2015, in unterschiedliche räume in wien und übersetzte die erfahrungen und materialien der vorhergehenden schritte von IDEAL PARADISE als methodische eingriffe in die stadt. in IDEAL PARADISE clash wurden die nun abwesenden räume der bisherigen interventionen und performativen installationen im theaterraum der halle G durch sound-recordings, choreografische kompositionen und körpererinnerungen miteinander in beziehung gesetzt. die nomadische stadtkomposition IDEAL PARADISE breitete sich wieder in die stadt aus und bespielte als choreografie der kohabitation und des utopischen miteinanders orte wie eine brache im 6. wiener gemeindebezirk, die verkaufshalle des caritas-lagers carla mittersteig, das belvedere sowie die wege dazwischen. in bukarest entwarf IDEAL PARADISE shifting space eine installation, die zur performance wurde. das urban laboratory IDEAL PARADISE ukraine knüpft an die performative praxis in praxis in wien an und untersucht bis ende 2017 den öffentlichen raum in kiew und lwiw unter berücksichtigung der architektonischen, politischen und rechtlichen gegebenheiten in der ukraine. thoughts meet space cairo in wien war ein labor und eine begehbare performative installation als weiterführung der gleichnamigen installation in kairo, die im november 2016 als research und installation mit live-perfromance im tqw präsentiert wurde. der abschluss des "katastrophen"-zyklus führte mit the last IDEAL PARADISE die stationen und das material der wuchernden serie IDEAL PARADISE in der alten postverladestelle in düsseldorf zusammen.


www.theatercombinat.com theatrale produktion und rezeption